Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-18-2018, 04:53 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
TimLoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 345
RVI2 Breakaway Switch

Bought a used RVI2 to replace my failing brake buddy. Previous owner only provided the plug from the breakaway switch that goes into break unit. Online installation instructions seem to indicate that the breakaway switch just completes a circuit when activated I assume sending a signal to the unit to activate brakes. If that is correct, then one lead goes from plug to switch and then back to other side of plug. Is that correct? Thanks for any insight. Tim
__________________
2004 Allegro 32BA
2005 Honda CRV
TimLoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-18-2018, 05:15 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 19,926
Yes, every electric switch I've seen for a break-away circuit uses an open switch that closes when the pin is pulled. Break-away switches for cable operated braking systems use a 'switch' that clamps down on the cable when emergency braking is required.

Your system can easily be tested, just connect the two wires together at the brake box and see if it applies the brakes. On my unit, a simple RCA plug is used to connect to the break-away switch.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 05:18 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
TimLoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 345
Thanks, Got It

After I posted, hooked up the RVI2 and jumped across the plug and unit activated brake. Thanks for the input.
__________________
2004 Allegro 32BA
2005 Honda CRV
TimLoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
switch



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RVI2 Breakaway rambler5860 Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 5 05-03-2016 12:38 AM
Anybody use an RVi2 aux braking system? MikeLeonard Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 8 01-29-2014 04:47 PM
TPMS Add-on to RVI2 stevedenesha iRV2.com General Discussion 0 01-11-2014 09:37 PM
The RVI2 Tire Sensors are now available for RVI2 braking systems RVupgrades Vendor Spotlight (Deals, Announcements & More) 0 09-12-2013 09:16 AM
breakaway switch switch on toad bigdog Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 1 05-29-2010 07:17 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.