Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2023, 06:19 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
computerguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: FT on the Road
Posts: 3,511
RVIBrake2 Antenna?

For the past year I have had problems with my RVIBrake2.
It randomly disconnects from the dash display. It says lost communication. It might reconnect or I may have to unplug the dash unit and reboot it where it almost always reconnects.
Most recently I am receiving a message on the dash unit to press the button on the main unit 3 times. This is after I have already done that and underway.
I called support and described these issues. They say the communication issue is most likely the antennas on both units need to be replaced. I don't know about antennas needing to be replaced. I've never heard of an antenna wearing out. Sure, maybe if it is physically damaged. But I digress.
The 2nd issue they say the main unit is losing power even if only momentarily. I don't see that happening as it connected to the battery and to the motorhome. But sure, anything is possible. It's also possible the sun won't rise tomorrow.
So for a $10 antenna I can get on Amazon, they want $20. OK, one for the dash unit and one for the main unit. $40. The antennas are light and shipping should be close to nothing. Nope, $18 for the cheapest they have available. Just seems like gouging to me. I digress again (yeah, I am not happy about the pricing).

Has anyone with an RVIBrake2 had similar issues? If yes, has replacing the antennas fixed it?
__________________
I don't subscribe to threads I reply to so will not see your reply to my comment. Drop me a direct message if you want a reply from me.
Cheers!
computerguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-01-2023, 10:19 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
RichKimball's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Arkansas
Posts: 1,222
No experience with loss like you state, but I sincerely doubt that replacing the antennas will help. I'm surprised that was offered as a troubleshooting step.
__________________
2008 Fleetwood Bounder Diesel 38S, Flat tow-2015 Cherokee Trailhawk
Richard (KG5JAQ/WRDN699) & Margaret Kimball w/Shih-Tzu 'Charley'
RichKimball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2023, 10:30 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 299
booster

you might need the booster.
if you already have one maybe check the power to it and also check the little antenna connection in the toad.
jeanluc001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2023, 10:42 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
RichKimball's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Arkansas
Posts: 1,222
Didn't know they offered a booster. At least I don't see one on their website.
__________________
2008 Fleetwood Bounder Diesel 38S, Flat tow-2015 Cherokee Trailhawk
Richard (KG5JAQ/WRDN699) & Margaret Kimball w/Shih-Tzu 'Charley'
RichKimball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2023, 10:43 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
jarwiebe's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 522
I have occasionally had the "Lose of communications" message show up briefly. But I have never had the "press the button on the main unit 3 times" start-up routine message after the initial start-up routine.

My thoughts are: The "lost communications" message could be attributed to antennas or some interference but the "start-up message would suggest that communications are happening. This message is to let you know that the main unit in the toad needs to be reset due to loss of power to it or some other issue.
__________________
Jake
2005 DSDP 4024, Cummins ISL 370, Spartan MM Chassis / 2018 Ford Taurus, Roadmaster Base Plate, Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar, RVI 2 Brakes / 1996 Mariah Shabah Z210 - 5.7L Alpha 1 Gen 2
jarwiebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2023, 06:38 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
computerguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: FT on the Road
Posts: 3,511
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeanluc001 View Post
you might need the booster.

if you already have one maybe check the power to it and also check the little antenna connection in the toad.


This was not discussed or brought up as an option. I donít see any booster listed as an option either on their website. I donít think it is an option.
Next time I go out (in March) Iíll look when I get the reset option if indeed the lights are flashing on the main unit indicating a power loss. Itís possible my 12v plug has worked loose after 35k miles and 7+ years.
I agree I donít think replacing the antennas will do anything. I have my amateur radio license and donít recall learning anything where antennas wear out and need to be periodically replaced.
__________________
I don't subscribe to threads I reply to so will not see your reply to my comment. Drop me a direct message if you want a reply from me.
Cheers!
computerguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2023, 08:25 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
bokobird's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: The Constitution State
Posts: 4,159
Your post reminded me I needed to order another antenna for the brake unit side of things

This is the *third* antenna I've gotten for the brake unit itself, but the 1st two went bad due to my clumsiness in ripping the wire out of the socket where it screws in. Twice, you'd think I'd learn???

If I recall, the first time I only had the unit a short time and they sent me one for free. This time, it's on my dime. I agree, prices stink, but not sure why you'd think the antenna on the receiver side would be bad.

Anyhow, my experiences with this unit over the years have had pretty much every situation that can happen. One time the break-away cable got caught up (not sure how) with the toad and ripped it right out of the socket it plugs into as I was turning to get on the highway. That alarm works!

For your reception problems, I've always had trouble with the thing dropping the link and saying "communication lost". Wait a while and it comes back.

I think the best you can do is get the antenna from the brake unit as far up into the leftmost area of your toad windshield and have the receiver as close to the drivers window as possible. I have been doing this on my latest trips and have had a lot of good success in keeping the comm link running. It'll still drop off here and there, but always restores itself automatically.
__________________
Carl
'07 Newmar KSDP3916 w/Hydralift/'06 FLHX, '15 Equinox, Blue Ox Alpha, RVibrake2, FMCA F476758
With Mac (28 yrs) and Boko (25 yrs) the birds...
bokobird is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antenna, brake



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with RVibrake2 Auxiliary Braking System SmokyRV Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 7 07-31-2015 10:22 AM
Stop bar for RViBrake2 in '15 Grand Cherokee LongGone Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 2 05-26-2015 06:56 PM
RVIBrake2 need to be level? davidl340 Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 6 05-11-2015 08:33 PM
RViBrake2 wthur Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 10 10-06-2013 04:15 PM
RVibrake2 dfunde01 Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 1 03-22-2013 10:13 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.