Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-13-2016, 10:23 PM   #1

Smile Should I tow my new Jeep or ????

Hello all, my user name Newmar Newbi doesn't say it all. not only am I new to Newmar I am new to Class A's. Quite a jump from where I once was with a 15 ft Scotty highlander. I have been retired for some time and my wife has only recently made up her mind to do the same.

We haven't even picked up our coach, and we have a potential toad Problem. We almost completed a trade this after noon (our 2015 Subaru crosstreck, for a 2011 Jeep liberty), we are supposed to pick up the Jeep tomorrow, and I plan to drive it out of state next week to pick up the MH, have a tow bar and break system installed installed. The problem is in researching my new toys further I came across a rather official looking "MANUAL" for the 2011 Jeep Liberty that says that "to tow this vehicle the drive shaft must be removed". I find a lot of post by Liberty owners who have pulled then with motor-homes. Several have written of the procedure for towing step by step but NONE have mentioned removing the drive shaft.

Now my question: Have any of you towing a Jeep Liberty, specifically a 2011 had to remove the drive shaft, to do so? I did ha a service manager at a Chrysler Jeep Dealership tell me that all Jeep with4 wheel drive can be towed flat, and that the ones that are only 2 wheel drive must be towed on a dolly.

I am not sure How well I am going to sleep tonight.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.