Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-25-2015, 04:50 PM   #1

Toad - effects of vehicle weight on MH mileage

Hi! I'm a total newbie here but figured this was the best place to start asking questions....

DH and I are hoping to start FT in a couple years. We are currently looking at a Tiffin Allegro 36LA, but that may change.

With regard to our tow along.... we currently own a 2002 Nissan Xterra. It's paid off, only has 85K miles, is completely reliable and we love it. However, it's 13 years old, only gets (at best) 16/22 MPG and weighs almost 4000 pounds. From what I've found so far, we CAN tow it 4 wheels down, but the question is, should we?

We could get a lighter, more fuel efficient car, but it would have to be used (very used) to stay within our budget.

Question for the experienced: does having a heavier tow vehicle make a HUGE difference in overall MH gas mileage or not so much in the grand scheme of things? Are we talking a difference of hundreds per year or thousands or many thousands? I know it depends on how much we drive, but I'm just trying got get an idea.

Also, does anyone have any qualitative sense on how much the weight of the Nissan will limit us with respect to what we can carry on the MH?