Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 10-09-2020, 03:33 PM   #1

Ford Super Duty Owner
Georgie Boy Owners Club
Tow dolly straps

I am new to towing with a tow dolly and have some questions that you guys experienced with dolly towing can help me with.
I have a Tow Master dolly with electric brakes, works good with no towing issues. My concern is the Straps!! A lot of the time when I load the car (1998 Toyota Corolla) after I have the ratchet snugged down and check the rear flat hook end of the strap, it is loose!!! I make sure it is good and snug before ratcheting and the front, top, and sides are tight and the tires are dimpling. Then I recheck the back strap and it is loose, not even snug!!
I have spent an hour loosening and restraping the tires before I can get it tight. Then 30 -40 miles down the road I stop and check them and they are loose again!!!
HELP!!! What am I doing wrong or NOT doing?!?!?

All input appreciated
1Motorhome is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!