Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-02-2016, 07:46 PM   #1

Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Towbar rebuild

Hello all...... I have a Roadmaster Sterling tow bar that I inherited from the previous owner. It is at least 6-7 yrs old, and quite possibly somewhat more. I could check the s/n with Roadmaster, but haven't gotten around to it.

In any event, it is time for a rebuild. Inner rod movement has become quite stiff, and connect/disconnect is becoming difficult. I can get a full replacement set of seals & bushings from Roadmaster quite reasonably, including new inner rods if desired or necessary.

Question: has anyone here had experience with a rebuild like this? Degree of difficulty? Special tools? Time required?

Thanks for the help!!

John & Diane, fulltiming since '12
'02 DS, FL, 3126, '04 Element
NHSO RVM103
2004 Element
JFXG is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!