Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-30-2016, 07:26 PM   #1

Fleetwood Owners Club
Trailer dealer said no brakes necessary?? Also, question about dual axle.

Is that true? So, just happen to stop by a trailer dealer today in my area so that I can do a little research on buying a flatbed. I have NO experience with flatbed trailers. My only experience was my ski boat, single axle trailer. I was hoping to just get a few questions answered. One question I had was about trailer brakes. He said that it's not necessary for an RV. I asked about mountains and things of that nature, and again he said it wasn't necessary. Was he right?

That same dealer made another claim. He said that if you have a dual axle trailer, that it can't be moved by hand except in a straight line direction. Is that true? My concern is that once I start hauling my car with me that I won't be able to move it once I unload the car and have to unhitch the trailer to get into a park or CG spot.
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!