Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2021, 05:49 PM   #1
Member
 
Dejus's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: West coast currently
Posts: 68
TST tire pressure monitor repeater installation

I have purchased a TST-507 tire pressure monitor, with flow-through sensors for my motorhome, and cap sensors for my toad.

It comes with a repeater, which they recommend installing in the rear basement compartment. It requires 12V DC power.

Being a total newbie to DC power stuff, I'm unsure of the best place to connect it.

The chassis power bay at the back of my 2017 Tiffin Allegro Bus 40SP seems a sensible location?

Would the green-circled points in the second image be a reasonable choice? Or would there be a better place?

(I don't know why the images upload upside down; even rotating them didn't fix that?)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Chassis bay.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	477.5 KB
ID:	346566   Click image for larger version

Name:	Closeup.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	354.9 KB
ID:	346567  

__________________
David and Jenn, full-timing newbies
2017 Tiffin Allegro Bus 40SP
2016 Chevy Colorado toad
Blog: sinclairtrails.com
Dejus is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-19-2021, 05:52 PM   #2
Member
 
Dejus's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: West coast currently
Posts: 68
The repeater:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Repeater.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	641.1 KB
ID:	346572  
__________________
David and Jenn, full-timing newbies
2017 Tiffin Allegro Bus 40SP
2016 Chevy Colorado toad
Blog: sinclairtrails.com
Dejus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2021, 07:59 PM   #3
Member
 
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 88
I have the same system with a 36 ft coach and a 24 ft trailer and have not needed the repeater.
__________________
2004 Winnebago Adventurer 35U
8.1 Workhorse
2002 Corvette
mdka99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2021, 08:55 PM   #4
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 18,960
I mounted mine in the same spot that you're looking at, but on a Freightliner chassis. I have the same battery bay at the rear on the passenger side. I just mounted it to the wall, added a fuse and connected it to the closest 12 volts.

I tried going without the repeater, but the unit would suddenly loose a sensor or two on the screen every so often. Once I added the repeater, it has worked flawlessly since. I leave it always connected, which has been fine for 7 years.
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018 (Freightliner)
2019 Ford Raptor
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2021, 09:34 PM   #5
Community Moderator
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 11,703
On both of our Tiffins, I mounted the repeater just inside the rear cap with cable ties and connected to the 12v hot wire in the trailer connection. That one is only hot when the ignition key is on, which is the only time you need the repeater.
__________________
2017 Phaeton 40IH XSH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'16 Jeep JKU Wrangler Sahara or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2021, 09:57 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ & Plover, WI
Posts: 4,840
On my 43' Allegro Bus, I placed it in the basement toward the upper rear and plugged it into the 12 volt DC outlet near the front of the basement behind the freezer. Works great.
__________________
2013 43 QGP Allegro Bus
2013 Avalanche
CJ7 Rock Crawler
Crasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2021, 11:00 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Damon Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 2,553
Blog Entries: 3
On my damon, I hooked the hot wire to the fuel pump feed (only hot when key is on) and mounted the repeater to the frame rail, beside the generator.
__________________
2006 Damon Daybreak 3276 35'with 5 Star Tuner. 3 200 Amp Lithium batteries and 2000 watt PSW inverter/charger. 2013 Elantra on a Master Tow dolly.
Retired USAF
HarryStone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2021, 05:57 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Apollo Beach & Key West , FL
Posts: 3,022
What you are thinking about will work. I chose to mount mine in the rear bathroom closet. Wired it to the power feed for the closet light. Been there 8 years now
__________________
2013 DS 4338
2015 F-150 toad with kayaks,bicycles and a Harley in the back
PanJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2021, 10:17 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
MattSiegel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Millstone, NJ
Posts: 13
I'm wondering about this too. Also, how to connect the wiring. Don't laugh! I know nothing about electrical stuff.

Is this as simple as just attaching the red to red and black to black on one of the batteries?

Or do you recommend professional installation?

Thanks for your suggestions!
__________________
Enjoying our Weekend Warrior lifestyle as we learn more and more about this amazing community.
MattSiegel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2021, 12:33 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ & Plover, WI
Posts: 4,840
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattSiegel View Post
I'm wondering about this too. Also, how to connect the wiring. Don't laugh! I know nothing about electrical stuff.

Is this as simple as just attaching the red to red and black to black on one of the batteries?

Or do you recommend professional installation?

Thanks for your suggestions!
If you are attaching to a 12 volt battery, then yes, it can be that simple. Any 12 volt source can work.
__________________
2013 43 QGP Allegro Bus
2013 Avalanche
CJ7 Rock Crawler
Crasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2021, 02:12 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
B52Rnav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 412
I just wired the extender to a 12v cigarette lighter plug and plugged that in to 12v socket in one of my forward bays. Added a piece of Velcro to extender and stuck it to carpet on bay wall. Easy.
B52Rnav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2021, 03:08 PM   #12
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 48,665
I installed our repeater in the bedroom closet next to the ceiling light and connected it to the 12VDC light source.
__________________
Joe & Annette
Sometimes I sits and thinks, sometimes I just sits.....
2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2021, 03:42 PM   #13
Member
 
Dejus's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: West coast currently
Posts: 68
The manufacturer recommends against installing in a closet, as apparently the mirror can block the signal. Though it does seem to work fine there for several people.

I have installed it in the location indicated in my original post. It has constant power, but hopefully negligible enough to not drain the chassis batteries. We'll be traveling in a couple of days, so will see how reliable it is.

Thanks for all the answers, folks!
__________________
David and Jenn, full-timing newbies
2017 Tiffin Allegro Bus 40SP
2016 Chevy Colorado toad
Blog: sinclairtrails.com
Dejus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2021, 05:20 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
chindog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 5,372
I also tied into the closet light wiring. However, there is plenty of wiring on the repeater to route around the closet door and mount it outside the closet above the mirrored door. Works great in that location.
__________________
Mike and Retha Hopkins
2014 40G Fleetwood Discovery
chindog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
install, installation, monitor, tire, tire pressure



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TST TPMS Repeater installation MDPD Tiffin Owner's Forum 15 04-23-2021 08:58 PM
TST Repeater Installation Gingerela Palazzo Motorhomes 8 05-31-2016 06:51 PM
TST Tire Pressure Monitor System RetiredBob Class A Motorhome Discussions 5 07-19-2012 07:28 PM
TST Tire Pressure Monitor Hard Wired ? hardy1000 MH-General Discussions & Problems 10 11-08-2009 02:46 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.