Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-04-2022, 01:42 PM   #1

Buying a used class c

Hi, I am new to RV life and i'm looking to buy a class c used that I can remodel a little and take my dogs and cat on the road. I'd like to get at least 5 years out of this RV. I've found a 2007 Four Winds Majestic on a E450 Ford chassis asking $15k. It has 149,000 miles on it, and originally was a cruise america RV. Everything looks to be in good condition, he has done maintenance before any big trips and replaced things like the brake lines and batteries. My dad was a Ford mechanic, after many years of working on GM, pontiac, and chevy. He says absolutely do not buy a Ford chassis because they have a whole bunch of issues, and maybe things like a blown head gasket that you can't predict or mitigate. He was adament that I would be asking for some really expensive and difficult repairs if I get a Ford. The problem I'm having is in finding anything else that fits my small budget and isn't a Ford. My mom is concerned that the 149,000 miles might mean its nearing its end of life, but my internet searches are showing me that it should get 200,000-300,000 miles with good maintenance. I'd like to get some thoughts from anyone that has owned a used E450 or owned one for a long time. Have you had problems, and how costly or difficult to resolve have they been? Can I really expect to get close to 300,000 miles if I take good care of it? I am quite handy and the daughter of a mechanic, so I will have the ability to handle som