Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-29-2015, 03:20 PM   #1

Buying cheap to fix, good idea?

Hi all, I have a question that hopefully some of you experienced RVers can help me with. I am currently in the market for an RV. I don't have any experience with them, but I have been doing an extreme amount of research on them for the past 4 months, so I have a good idea on how to inspect them, and know trouble spots to look for. However, I am still new to the whole thing. I have about 11,000 grand to spend on a used RV, and I have been scouring craigslist. My questions is this, would it be better to spend 10-11 grand on a much better "looking" coach, and then not really have too much cash left over for possible future repairs (only about 500 dollars as insurance), or to buy much cheaper, for example around 5 grand, and then have 6 grand for repairs on hand? Can decent RVs that have still have some decent life in them available for so cheap? It would be a nightmare for me to spend all of my available finances, then halfway out my trip something breaks, and I don't have any money to fix it. That is probably my biggest fear.

My plan is this. I want to buy the RV, have it ready to go within 3 months of purchase, go on an epic excursion up the west coast for 4 months, and then settle down again to work and re-up my deleted finances. This will be my home for the next several years.