Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-09-2022, 12:51 PM   #1

Ford Super Duty Owner
Ford Chassis Spare Tire

It seems to me the spare tire on the E series chassis is rather pointless.

I have been driving E series vans for over 35 years. I am on my 3rd. One lasted more than 12 years and 150,000. One lasted 9 years until it got T-boned and totaled. I am 12 years into the current one. I have never once used the spare tire. When I looked at spares after 9 years they were always cracked, and I would not want to put them on the road. Not sure how long they last when exposed like they are and all the rain and road dirt.

I tried to use one once when I had a slow leak in one on the ground. They are held up by a wire rope cable winch. The cable was packed in grease but was still very rusty. I could not get it to retract after a dozen tries. I found the spare unusable. Besides the cracking it would not hold any air. On the Class C chassis they have added the usual square tube bumper to store the sewer hose. It mostly bocks access to the winch crank. Not sure how I would be able to use it without some kind of special tool. Maybe a flat ratchet wrench.

If you had to use it, then there are all the issues of replacing only one tire and wear that does not match.

So again, what good is the spare tire? I think it just adds unnecessary weight.
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!