Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2022, 12:48 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Posts: 3
Inverter cable

Hi. I recently purchased a Renogy 200 wt package for my motorhome. The panels and controller are working perfect. However, I cannot connect my 2000w inverter close to my batteries because the battery compartment is located under the slide out. I will need to run about 12 feet of cable to the inverter. Should I use o/1 cable? Also, what kind of cable is best...the copper coated aluminum cable or the pure copper(very expensive). Any help would be appreciated.

thank you
nostradoofus is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-04-2022, 01:04 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,660
Since 2/0 cable is typically needed for a 2000 watt inverter, going half the size to a 1/0 is not a good idea.

You will likely need to go 3/0 or 4/0.
__________________
2014 Volvo 630 Tandem 2016 Chevy 3500 DRW, crew cab
2016 Fuzion 325T
675ah AGM, MSH 3012 inverter, 1400w Solar
Nwcid is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2022, 05:25 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 31,749
You don't need to see your inverter, mount it close to the batteries and run 120 volt wiring longer distance, otherwise get 4/0 copper cable.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2022, 07:25 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Posts: 16
I just installed the inverter and battery and used 4/0 cable. Don't go light it will over heat. That said use cooper flexible cable. I got mine thru amazon you can also get it from a welding supply co.
Weldergary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2022, 07:38 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 2,319
2/0 over 24 feet is good. Use a fine strand copper. Aluminum won't carry it. DC the distance is calculated to and from. 1/0 is enough but it is on the edge
__________________
2004 Dynasty 4
shootist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 12:45 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Shrewsbury
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
You don't need to see your inverter, mount it close to the batteries and run 120 volt wiring longer distance, otherwise get 4/0 copper cable.
This is the best suggestion. If you've got no choice but to locate the inverter far from the batteries, I don't think 1/0 will be sufficient mostly because you'll get a lot of voltage drop at full inverter capacity. For 2000W, the cables will need to be capable of 167 amps at 24 feet (round trip). Here's a good cable size calculator to help you consider both ampacity and voltage drop: https://baymarinesupply.com/calculator When voltage drops, amps go up which causes more heat, both in the wiring and the inverter.

Pure copper is a much better conductor than copper coated aluminum...worth paying extra for.
__________________
retired USCG aviator
2020 Jayco Greyhawk 29MV/2021 MINI Cooper toad
dvspl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 01:29 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Marine359's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 1,237
Renogy says their 2000w inverter will draw 83 amps at full load. 1/0 cable can safely handle 150 amps. I used 1/0 when I installed my 2,000w Xantrex inverter/charger after checking with Xantrex. However the inverter/charger is just 3ft round trip to bus bar, and battery is 4ft round trip to bus bar., so a total of 9ft. IMO, 1/0 is perfectly suitable for most 2,000w inverters, as long as you fuse the wire. Even if the inverter has a boost feature of 50% for 30 seconds, the 1/0 cable should be quite safe for short haul to batt.
__________________
Jim. 2021 Canyon Denali 4x4 3.6L, Husky C-Line
2021b Micro Mini 2108DS, 170AH LiFePo4, Xantrex XC2000, 110w Solar Suitcase, Champion 2500w df
Marine359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 03:46 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 31,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marine359 View Post
Renogy says their 2000w inverter will draw 83 amps at full load. 1/0 cable can safely handle 150 amps. I used 1/0 when I installed my 2,000w Xantrex inverter/charger after checking with Xantrex. However the inverter/charger is just 3ft round trip to bus bar, and battery is 4ft round trip to bus bar., so a total of 9ft. IMO, 1/0 is perfectly suitable for most 2,000w inverters, as long as you fuse the wire. Even if the inverter has a boost feature of 50% for 30 seconds, the 1/0 cable should be quite safe for short haul to batt.
You need to go back to your spec sheet.

A 2000 watt inverter will draw over 150 amps at 2000 watts.

The cable size on inverter installs is to limit voltage drop, not so much for overloading the cables.

In a 24 ft run, your 12.6 volt batteries voltage may only be 11.6 volts at the inverter, while drawing 2000 watts. If the batteries drop to 12 volts, the inverter may shut down or at least start sounding an alarm.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 05:10 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Marine359's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 1,237
Sorry Twinboat,
The OP stated he has a Renogy 2000w inverter. So, I looked up the specs for his inverter. Other inverters may be different, but it’s all there on the Renogy website. So, I did go back to the spec sheet, so, you might want to check the spec sheet.

83 amps at full load for a Renogy 2000w inverter. It’s right from the Renogy website:
https://www.renogy.com/blog/3000w-in...%20full%20load.

Additionally the highest wattage appliance is likely to be the microwave. His Renogy probably won’t run it. But for reference, a 1,400w microwave will draw 128 dc amps. So, no danger to 1/0 wire before the inverter trips.
__________________
Jim. 2021 Canyon Denali 4x4 3.6L, Husky C-Line
2021b Micro Mini 2108DS, 170AH LiFePo4, Xantrex XC2000, 110w Solar Suitcase, Champion 2500w df
Marine359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 05:55 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 31,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marine359 View Post
Sorry Twinboat,
The OP stated he has a Renogy 2000w inverter. So, I looked up the specs for his inverter. Other inverters may be different, but itís all there on the Renogy website. So, I did go back to the spec sheet, so, you might want to check the spec sheet.

83 amps at full load for a Renogy 2000w inverter. Itís right from the Renogy website:
https://www.renogy.com/blog/3000w-in...%20full%20load.

Additionally the highest wattage appliance is likely to be the microwave. His Renogy probably wonít run it. But for reference, a 1,400w microwave will draw 128 dc amps. So, no danger to 1/0 wire before the inverter trips.
Link didn't work and what ever you saw was wrong anyway.
It's math, you can not invert 12.6 volts to 2000 watts of 120 volt AC power for less then 150 amps.


It's not a danger with undersized wire, it's the 3% voltage drop on a 25 ft, 1/0 wire run. That's almost 3 volts drop, the inverter will shut down.

This is from the Renogy install manual.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20221005-184722_Drive.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	30.5 KB
ID:	378015
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 07:35 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 278
I have the same Renogy inverter, the output specs are 2000w continuous and 4000w peak surge.
I believe thatís closer to 300 amps?

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9474.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	166.4 KB
ID:	378034
__________________
2015 Forester 2801qs
Custom trailer for Hobie and Yamaha
Tombsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 07:47 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Marine359's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 1,237
Interesting discussion. I think there is the theoretical, and then there is the real product.
Maybe the published Renogy manual is wrong as you suggested, but the manual states the inverter is shipped with 2awg cable. Why on earth would they undersize the cable that much if the inverter could draw draw 150amps as you suggest? 2awg can carry only 130amps. It Could be your generalized presumption are correct, but it seems they don’t apply to this particular inverter. Could be, I’m misreading the manual, so I’m more than willing to admit fault. Maybe this link to the manual will work better:
https://www.renogy.com/content/Manua...S%20Manual.pdf
The cable size is on page 6
If you have a content blocker, the link will not open.

Also, I do agree that if an inverter outputs it’s full 2000w rating, it would draw 166 amps dc.
__________________
Jim. 2021 Canyon Denali 4x4 3.6L, Husky C-Line
2021b Micro Mini 2108DS, 170AH LiFePo4, Xantrex XC2000, 110w Solar Suitcase, Champion 2500w df
Marine359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 08:03 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marine359 View Post
Interesting discussion. I think there is the theoretical, and then there is the real product.
Maybe the published Renogy manual is wrong as you suggested, but the manual states the inverter is shipped with 2awg cable. Why on earth would they undersize the cable that much if the inverter could draw draw 150amps as you suggest? 2awg can carry only 130amps. It Could be your generalized presumption are correct, but it seems they donít apply to this particular inverter. Maybe this link to the manual will work better:
https://www.renogy.com/content/Manua...S%20Manual.pdf
The cable size is on page 6
If you have a content blocker, the link will not open.

Iím not sure if thatís an older model but mine came with 4awg cables as shown here.Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9476.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	142.3 KB
ID:	378036
__________________
2015 Forester 2801qs
Custom trailer for Hobie and Yamaha
Tombsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 08:05 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 31,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marine359 View Post
Interesting discussion. I think there is the theoretical, and then there is the real product.
Maybe the published Renogy manual is wrong as you suggested, but the manual states the inverter is shipped with 2awg cable. Why on earth would they undersize the cable that much if the inverter could draw draw 150amps as you suggest? 2awg can carry only 130amps. It Could be your generalized presumption are correct, but it seems they donít apply to this particular inverter. Maybe this link to the manual will work better:
https://www.renogy.com/content/Manua...S%20Manual.pdf
The cable size is on page 6
If you have a content blocker, the link will not open.
It's shipped with 2 gauge cables but they are 2 feet long, that doesn't mean you can use 2 gauge of any length.

On page 13 they list solar controller cable sizes. The instructions are poorly written.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cable, inverter



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TV Cable Box (TiVo) and Cable Internet Installation on Newmar Canyon Star kittyRV Newmar Owner's Forum 2 12-09-2017 11:52 AM
Using AM Antenna cable to pull a new cable DDMO Newmar Owner's Forum 1 08-27-2016 11:46 PM
Cable tv cable Mattera68 Class A Motorhome Discussions 3 07-24-2016 10:17 AM
Cable labels for antenna, satellite, and cable TV billhuntz Fleetwood Owner's Forum 2 06-30-2015 02:17 AM
Television cable and satellite cable routing wagonmaster2 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 15 05-10-2006 09:33 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.