Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2022, 01:42 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
RAPinMASS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 14
Loss of AC power

Hey guys, was working in my Freedol Elite 24fe in 90 whether and turned on A/C. Forgot I was plugged into 110.

Obviously blew something. Turned off all circuit breakers and then turned them all on, and nothing.

House battery is working but for lights but nothing else. Where else should I look.

Thanks
RAPinMASS is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-22-2022, 01:51 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 30,350
Yoir RV runs on 120 volts no matter what your plugged into. Your house may be 15 or 20 amp and your RV is 30 amp but still 120 volts.

First place to check is the circuit breaker in the house outlet your plugged into.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2022, 02:48 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
RAPinMASS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 14
You are a genius.
I am as far from an electrician as you can get.

That was the problem, thanks
RAPinMASS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2022, 01:56 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 204
Important: If you are plugged in at home with a long extension cord, make sure it is a HEAVY DUTY (larger wire) extension cord. Especially if you are running the AC. The large current draw from the AC will cause an inadequate extension cord to heat up. This will affect the voltage (120) going to the AC and it might get too low and could cause damage to your AC unit.


Good luck!
Chris
SJ-Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2022, 07:16 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Entegra Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 762
You should install a Softstart on your AC. This will allow you to run your AC from a 20 amp circuit at your home. The Softstart slowly starts your AC and eliminates the spike that pops your home breaker. Good luck!
__________________
Senior Member
Grower15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2022, 12:26 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
DamonCamper's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Haltom City, TX
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grower15 View Post
You should install a Softstart on your AC. This will allow you to run your AC from a 20 amp circuit at your home. The Softstart slowly starts your AC and eliminates the spike that pops your home breaker. Good luck!

All true but aren't they expensive AND not so easy to install?

This was the cheapest I found:

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/slredire...getName=sp_atf
__________________
Dana - U.S.Army CW4 (Retired)
2018 Gulfstream Conquest 6320 32'
2019 Jeep Trailhawk
DamonCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2022, 07:36 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Entegra Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamonCamper View Post
All true but aren't they expensive AND not so easy to install?

This was the cheapest I found:

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/slredire...getName=sp_atf


Dana,
Yes the Soft Starts are around $300, so definitely not a give away. They now come with a “no splice” kit so are fairly straight forward to install. Check out Mike Sokol’s You Tube channel for step by step instructions. Mike is a respected RV electrical expert who gives seminars around the US. We buy from TechnoRV often as they have good prices and often have sales. We have no affiliation with them, just happy customers. The Softstart Install is nothing a retired CW4 couldn’t easily tackle (-:
__________________
Senior Member
Grower15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
loss of power, power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A/C Power Loss with Shore Power geothomas Tiffin Owner's Forum 12 03-24-2022 08:48 AM
Power loss switching from generator to power inverter woodtouch6 Newmar Owner's Forum 6 04-07-2016 03:56 PM
Partial power loss on Power Distribution panel MikeandBecky Class A Motorhome Discussions 16 02-17-2015 06:01 PM
Satellite picture loss Not signal loss. Rorytug Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 1 06-23-2013 03:42 PM
Partial power loss on shore power? CREWofMAROON MH-General Discussions & Problems 9 11-22-2012 12:12 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.