Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV LIFE STYLES FORUMS > RV'ing On A Budget
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 09-21-2021, 04:32 PM   #1

Help Choosing best rig for me

Hi all,

Iím a total Newbie, this is my first post on this website.

I need help choosing a rig. My priorities are good gas mileage and a big kitchen. I found one but didnít know enough at the time to jump on it. It was a 29í Safari Trek with a 3.? Diesel. The owner said it got 17 mpg and it had a great kitchen.

Itís really critical that I make the right decision on a rig. It needs to be solid and not exorbitantly expensive to maintain. I will be living in it. The primary purpose is to enable me to retire. My modest Social Security income is not enough to both eat and pay rent. The plan is to outfit with solar and boondocks on public lands. But the plan wonít work if my rig is expensive to maintain or needs big-ticket repairs.

My purchase budget is $15K so that means an older rig. Your thoughts and suggestions please.
katkando is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!