Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV LIFE STYLES FORUMS > Full-Timers
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 04-29-2021, 10:32 AM   #1

Ever had chassis or frame issues?

I've been RVing for about 20 years now, but not full time. I've had 2 trailers prior to my current 2014 Arctic Fox 25r. All have had bent chassis to one degree or another.

I sold the previous trailers when i noticed they were bent. I bought the AF because of their so called sturdy chassis.

I've logged about 20k miles on the arctic fox and spent about 200 nights in it. I tend to go out for 6 weeks at a time.

I'm out roaming the SW now. Earlier on this trip i noticed the cross member for the a-frame tongue was bowed and there was excessive flex in the tongue. Fortunately i found a great welder in panguitch, utah who straightened and reinforced the cross member which resolved the problem. However, I've now noticed that the bathroom door and the pantry door are a bit off square. They may have been this way for a while before i actually noticed, Same with the tongue.

So, I'm asking you full timers if you've had your rv get a bit off square from all the over the road miles? Is that when you ditch it and get a new one? do you have the chassis straightened? or just live with it?

Other than those 2 issues, I'm perfectly happy with this trailer. Especially now that I upgraded my solar to 800w with 400ah lithium and all victron components....but I digress. Thanks!
Whangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!