Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Boondocking
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 09-30-2021, 07:00 AM   #1

Boondocking in grizzly country

The wife and I are considering doing some boondocking in the Rockies next spring. Grizzly bears inhabit the area we are considering.

I'm a former wildlife biologist, and I worked with black bears early in my career. I know from experience that even a modest sized black bear is perfectly capable of breaking into a cabin or a car if it wants to. In most areas of the country, they don't do it because they've been conditioned to avoid people (Yosemite NP being a notable exception). Never worked with grizzlies, but it seems obvious to me that an adult grizzly would have no problem getting into a camper if it wanted to (yes, even a completely hard-sided camper).

So here's my question for those of you who boondock in grizzly country: how do you handle campsite sanitation? Obviously, never leave food, trash, dishes, crumbs, cosmetics, etc., outside. But I'm quite sure the bears can still smell any of that stuff that is inside your camper. If you were tent camping, you'd store it all in a food locker or suspended between two trees at least a couple hundred yards away from your campsite, and that's also where you would do all your cooking, eating, and cleaning up. But who wants to do that when you've got a perfectly good kitchen and table in your camper? Kind of defeats the point of having a camper.
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!