Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Boondocking
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-16-2022, 09:58 AM   #1

Finding water

I'm fairly new to boondocking with just two week-long off-grid trips under my belt, but have had good luck and a lot of fun so far. My question is about where to find place to fill the fresh water tank. I can carry 40 gallons which lasts quite a while but eventually needs to be refilled, especially before going into remote areas where no water is available. So far I've used a municipal park that has a few campsites, but that may not always be an option.

I tend to avoid interstate highways but know some rest areas might have potable water but are there other spots to keep in mind? Specifically, it is considered acceptable to pull into a state park just to fill up with water even if you don't intend to camp there? Thanks!
w9ran is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!