RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Boondocking
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 11-28-2020, 08:08 PM   #1

How Far South?

I'm becoming very serious about heading south, or more accurately southwest, when the weather turns really cold up here in the northland. I'm looking to hear from you experienced hands who regularly winter in the southwest during "winter". Please be gentle, since it's my first time.

First of all, I'm interested in knowing typically how long does it take to freeze water lines in below freezing temps. If it dips below freezing for a few hours, will I be safe? 12 hours? All day? I'm trying to figure how long I have to make a high-speed run to cross to the safe side of the invisible freeze line.

Secondly, how far south do I have to go to insure I won't be caught in freezing temps? Phoenix? McAllen? El Paso? Albuquerque? Can I consider southern Utah?

Thirdly, what are my prospects for boondocking? I can be self sufficient for as long as 2 weeks. Where will be my best opportunities to avoid boredom while being relatively close to necessities.

Finally, some helpful information:
* Older 33' class A
* 3 Souls onboard (one's an 80lb Lab puppy...... I know, right?)
* Would like to have decent phone/web connectivity
* Will be travelling late December thru end of March
* I'm a relatively experienced camper, but haven't done boondocking on this scale ever before.

Lastly, what would be your advice on what should I consider priorities?

Thanks in advance for your input.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!