Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Boondocking
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-31-2021, 06:15 PM   #1

Newbie needs Battery Advice

I am new to RV'ing and I really need advice on batteries. Most of my camping has been, and will continue to be boondocking. My problem is that my one group size 24 battery does not have enough capacity to run the furnace fan at night when it is cold. I can't add another size 24 battery because the space between the tongue railing is only 21 inches, the available height for a new battery setup can't be much taller than the size 24. . So my question is what are my best options for batteries that would give me the most capacity during the night hours for the furnace fans. I would really like to keep the batteries mounted on the tongue where they are currently mounted. Going into the night, the battery is always charged to full capacity. I realize that there are a ton of threads on the forum that could answer my question, but I know virtually nothing about batteries at this point.

Winnebago Minnie Drop 190RD
175W Solar panel on roof
Truck does charge battery while towing
3000/2300W generator.
Trester is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!