Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Boondocking
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-16-2016, 10:58 PM   #1

Want solar but so expensive!

When foil VE was developed a few years ago it was going to "revolutionize the solar industry and make it cheap". Well of corse that didn't happen...I want to be able to boondock with enough inverted AC to be able to run everything for long periods of time...well of corse with the exception of the AC units.

I am a power engineer and understand solar to AC systems extremely well and really all I'm asking here is do inexpensive (not cheap quality) panels actually exist? I have tried so many avenues I have read about and they all turn up as dead ends. Here in Canada to put a system on this new rig is about $5600 including 4 6v batteries. More cheddar than I can really afford in this uncertain time in my industry. If anyone has a legitimately and significantly cheaper place they know of to get high quality panels I would very much appreciate a steer in that direction.
Thank you!!
DieselGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!