Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV LIFE STYLES FORUMS > RV'ing with Pets
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-12-2015, 01:22 PM   #1

Restroom breaks?

I'm new to RVing and about to take a trip with 2 dogs. Mine is a 60 pound lab and the other is my Mother in laws 26 pound mutt we rescued so not sure of the breed. Naturally we will need to stop for restroom breaks for our dogs every 2-3 hours. My Lab can hold it longer but not sure about the rescue.

My question is what do you guys look for in a suitable stop spot for this. Grass seems a must or at least something like a field or such. I don't like the idea of letting them get to close to any major traffic even with a good harness and leash anything could happen. The idea of going down some road that may not have a good spot to turn around pulling the toad also seems it could be challenging. Am I over thinking this? I'm a former airline pilot so having exit strategies compels me to think about this.
noserider is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!