RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV LIFE STYLES FORUMS > Solo RV'ers
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 06-17-2020, 09:35 AM   #1

A travel partner?

Hey RV travelers,

This is my first time posting but I read everyone's post that comes in my email and enjoy them greatly.

I'm looking for some feed-back and ideas.
I have traveled with my mom for years. No RV, just SUV driving to our destination. She passed away in 2015. Since my husband trains for his competition all summer and competes, we do not vacation together.
Last year for the first time in 3 years I decided to go solo and meet my brother in Moab. He goes every year since he's a "Jeeper." And I've been before and had some great hikes with him.
Anyway, I bought a Revel 4x4 van to travel in. I have only camped as a young adult in a tent. I stayed in hotels along the highway. I know...defeats the purpose of having a camping van.
I was so lonely! I missed her so much. It took me 5 days from Florida to get there (Farmington, N.M.) I was always concerned that something was going to happen to the van. I wasn't concerned so much with safety because I travel with my Rottie and a smaller mix.
Now, I want to go back and visit my brother in Aztec, N.M. and again meet my older brother in Moab. The problem now is that my Rottie died in Jan. of this year and I feel like I have no protection. I do have my CC permit though.
I'm 62 and have been feeling slightly more vulnerable than in the past.
I would love to find a travel partner but not sure how to do that and keep it safe.
I have two small dogs now (it's quite embarrassing after I've had a 100lb. Rottie.)
Has anyone had experience with trying to find travel partners before?
I've checked on RVwomen but they seem to just meet up for events.

Any input would be appreciated.
k9travler is offline   Reply With Quote