iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (https://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   Fleetwood Owner's Forum (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f107/)
-   -   Shore charging 50A coach with 15 or 20 amp 120 (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f107/shore-charging-50a-coach-with-15-or-20-amp-120-a-196781.html)

dlirious 03-18-2014 09:46 AM

Shore charging 50A coach with 15 or 20 amp 120
 
I just bought a 2014 Expedition and will be storing it. I have been working on outfitting it in my driveway and with the Energy Management System I have been trying to plug into 120 to just charge the batteries which I should be able to do. I have set the Magnum Energy to 15A limiting and turned off heavy draw breakers, like reefer and A/C units but I still can't get it to accept the power all the time. It shows L1 0 volts and L2 118 v. Do I need voltage on both lines like 50amp service requires 120 on both hot leads 180 out of phase. How do I shore battery charge without 50Amp service? Running generator not neighborly all the time. Or should I just charge while traveling and use battery disconnects when stored? Any suggestions or experience from other Fleetwood 50A owners appreciated.
Doug Stroud

Cobra1 03-18-2014 10:07 AM

Sounds like your adapter may be the problem. I believe what you need is called a "dogbone" adapter. It adapts 30 amp to 50 amp and gives 120v on both legs. You can then adapt the 30 amp to your 20 amp. I do it all of the time at home. I ca even run one A/C unit with no problems. Make sure your extension cord is a good one or it will get hot.

dlirious 03-19-2014 08:52 AM

Fleetwood Power
 
Thanks Cobra. I think I have dog bone plugs, I use a 50-30 then a 30 to 110. Maybe the 30 to 110 is mis-wired or my neutral is on wrong plug on the house line. Getting 50 amp installed at house next week so will be solved then. Thanks for the response. Good travels to you.

dvmweb 03-19-2014 08:47 PM

As an aside, don't put the connected adaptors in the mh bay. They can get really hot, even enough to start a fire. Eventually spend the money on a real 220v 50 amp plug. You will not regret it. It only cost us about $400. The wire was the most expensive part. If you know how to do it is not that difficult.

wa8yxm 03-20-2014 09:21 AM

Yes you need voltage on both L-1 and L-2. You have two choices

One, is a dogbone adapter 15 amp plug 50 amp outlet

The other is two dog bones 50-30 and 30-15 (The second number is the plug)

You need a 50-30 anyway.

THIRD CHOICE on SOME RV's (And as it happens this works for me)

On some RV's the converter is a plug in model (Mine for eample) and I have a cord that has a 15 amp plug and a 15/20 amp outlet, since the 10 amp max load converter has a 20 amp plug on it.

So i pull the plug from the RV's outlet and plug into the cord to the hole in the building wall. Works great, and completly limits my power draw to that which the converter sucks (not much) when I need 120vac indoors (TV's and such) well.. that is what the Prosine does best. I mean the Prosine is even better at it than Consolidated Edison Duke, Blue ridge, Detroit Edison, Comsumers and the other power companies about the land.

pagosajoe 03-20-2014 09:38 AM

On our 2012 Discovery, we are connected from 120 VAC to the dog bone converter to the 50 A line on the coach. Our power meter shows L1 at 0 VAC, and L2 at 120 VAC. I spoke to Fleetwood and the dealer about it, and it's "normal" they say. We've never had a problem with running the battery charger and the refrigerator over the winter with this configuration.

stink 03-21-2014 02:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cobra1 (Post 1972976)
Sounds like your adapter may be the problem. I believe what you need is called a "dogbone" adapter. It adapts 30 amp to 50 amp and gives 120v on both legs. You can then adapt the 30 amp to your 20 amp. I do it all of the time at home. I ca even run one A/C unit with no problems. Make sure your extension cord is a good one or it will get hot.

Hey cobra, I need to disagree with you. The adaptor does not combine the 110v to both 110v legs of the 50 amp curcuit. That is the job of the switcher. Mine uses an intellitec unit to "split" the single leg of 110v to all curcuits in the MH. On my surge protector panel it shows 110 leg 1 and 0 leg 2 when plugged into 15,20,30 amp service.:whistling:

stink 03-21-2014 02:03 AM

Doug, will you be parking your MH in the driveway enough to warrent a 50 amp panel installed in or on your garage? I played with the 15amp adapter untell I burnt one trying to charge batterys then installed the 50 amp box. Now I can run a/c, ref, micro and all other loads:thumb:

Lobstah 03-21-2014 05:38 AM

Make sure your hot water heater is off, or switched to propane.
Common problem when we first got our coach.
I stayed plugged into a 15a circuit when ever it was parked in the driveway.

Jim

Cobra1 03-21-2014 08:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stink (Post 1976756)
Doug, will you be parking your MH in the driveway enough to warrent a 50 amp panel installed in or on your garage? I played with the 15amp adapter untell I burnt one trying to charge batterys then installed the 50 amp box. Now I can run a/c, ref, micro and all other loads:thumb:

The best way by far is a 50 amp circuit. I may have to invest someday.

dlirious 03-24-2014 09:15 AM

All okay now.
 
Thanks to all the good comments and all true. If the dealer had not turned off the inverter switch after a small warranty repair and then not turn it back on (the big red one I did not check) it would have been okay. All good now. Putting in 50 amp RV service at my house Friday and just finished first trip with the rig and all was perfect.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:53 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.