iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (https://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   Entegra Owner's Forum (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f278/)
-   -   Gen Set (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f278/gen-set-202172.html)

14 Cornerstone 05-01-2014 08:41 PM

Gen Set
 
We have a 2014 Cornerstone. Our storage unit has ground fault circuit breaker so we cannot plug in or we pop the circuit breaker. We would like to set the generator Energy Command 30 to come on Auto and charge up the batteries when they get low. We would only do this for a few days of us leaving for a trip. The operatorís manual is no help. I viewed the video that was posted for the Energy Command 30 and that was no help because they upgraded the Energy Command 30 system. What I need to know is what everyone has for a start V number and end V number. On our it has (Start @ V<)(<factory setting) Not sure what the factory setting is. When I push the arrow up or down one says 10.5 and the other says 14.5. Does anyone know what the factory setting is and should I just leave it there? Sorry, this is long. I just want to set the generator to come on when the batteries go low. Any help would be nice. Thank you!

Tim:banghead:

bullheaded 05-01-2014 08:52 PM

?????????????????? Buy a charger/maintainer for the batteries.....1 for the house batteries and 1 for the chassis.

Fasteddie08 05-01-2014 08:53 PM

Take the batteries out and charge them in your garage with a battery tender if you don't have power in storage. That way you have nothing to worry about.


Ed & Donna
2014 Anthem RBQ. Midnight Illusion

MRUSA14 05-01-2014 09:09 PM

These posts get more ridiculous every day. He's supposed to remove 10 batteries from his coach, take them home and charge them? And how does his refrigerator run without power or batteries?

A charge/maintainer? He already has that built in to his coach!

T/R, your question was totally appropriate, but I don't have the answer on the top of my head. I suspect it is in your Magnum Inverter manual, but the easier way may be to call Entegra.

Additionally, why does your coach pop the circuit breaker? You may have the inverters set to too high a charging level for the circuit you are plugged into. Try setting the shore power setting on each inverter to 5 amps, then see if it pops the breaker. It should not. If it does, something is wrong. Get the shore power working. It's a better solution to your problem.

Fasteddie08 05-01-2014 09:18 PM

Yes, if he has no power at his storage and "HE" is concerned that having dead batts when he returns ( when ever that is ) then Yes pulling them and keeping them charged is not a terribly bad idea. . People use the forum to look for different ideas not all of them feasible. But since my post offends you so much, give us your idea


Ed & Donna
2014 Anthem RBQ. Midnight Illusion

JoyalRV 05-01-2014 09:21 PM

A few days is not going to drain the batteries, so unless you're leaving the coach with appliances running, I wouldnt worry about the batteries.

Fasteddie08 05-01-2014 09:22 PM

Didn't catch the few days away. Agreed, nothing should happen to the batts


Ed & Donna
2014 Anthem RBQ. Midnight Illusion

14 Cornerstone 05-01-2014 09:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MRUSA14 (Post 2033567)
These posts get more ridiculous every day. He's supposed to remove 10 batteries from his coach, take them home and charge them? And how does his refrigerator run without power or batteries?

A charge/maintainer? He already has that built in to his coach!

T/R, your question was totally appropriate, but I don't have the answer on the top of my head. I suspect it is in your Magnum Inverter manual, but the easier way may be to call Entegra.

Additionally, why does your coach pop the circuit breaker? You may have the inverters set to too high a charging level for the circuit you are plugged into. Try setting the shore power setting on each inverter to 5 amps, then see if it pops the breaker. It should not. If it does, something is wrong. Get the shore power working. It's a better solution to your problem.


Thank you for the reply. I have set the shore power on each inverter to 5 amps. They still blow the circuit breaker. I have a call into CS and have no reply yet. Thank you anyway.
Tim

14 Cornerstone 05-01-2014 09:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoyalRV (Post 2033588)
A few days is not going to drain the batteries, so unless you're leaving the coach with appliances running, I wouldnt worry about the batteries.

I do want to run the refrigerator. Get it cooled down and load before we go. Thank you for the reply.

Tim

oneal 05-01-2014 09:36 PM

Ground fault receptacles go bad and trip far too soon, sometimes even brand new ones are overly sensitive. I would change (or remove) the GFI at the storage building.

MRUSA14 05-01-2014 09:43 PM

I agree. The GFI should not be tripping if your inverters are set to 5 Amps. There is a problem either in the GFI (likely) or in the RV (less likely). The problem should be found and fixed, so you can enjoy your coach without worrying about the generator, and so that your batteries will be kept charged when in storage. If you can just change a GFI receptable, that could be the fix. They only cost about $15. If the CGI is in the breaker panel, it gets a little more complicated. You may need an electrician to find and fix the problem.

14 Cornerstone 05-01-2014 09:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MRUSA14 (Post 2033628)
I agree. The GFI should not be tripping if your inverters are set to 5 Amps. There is a problem either in the GFI (likely) or in the RV (less likely). The problem should be found and fixed, so you can enjoy your coach without worrying about the generator, and so that your batteries will be kept charged when in storage. If you can just change a GFI receptable, that could be the fix. They only cost about $15. If the CGI is in the breaker panel, it gets a little more complicated. You may need an electrician to find and fix the problem.

I rent the space at a storage area. I cannot change the GFI receptacle. Thank you for youíre reply.

MRUSA14 05-01-2014 09:51 PM

Does your rent include electricity? If so they should provide you with a working receptacle.

14 Cornerstone 05-01-2014 09:52 PM

Thank you all for you're reply. I will just wait for CS to call. Thank you!


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:41 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.