iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (https://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   Fleetwood Owner's Forum (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f107/)
-   -   Help electrical problem (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f107/help-electrical-problem-203963.html)

Tom222 05-16-2014 07:57 AM

Help electrical problem
 
Ok my GFI in the bathroom will not reset

Almost all of my wall electrical plugs will not work on DC or Generator

I checked the fuses, all seem ok

I checked the breakers , none tripped

Am I missing some secret?

Tom


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum


2007 Fleetwood Providence 40X
OurBigRVAdventure.com

DegoRed 05-16-2014 07:58 AM

Bad GFI plug, those things break all the time. Go down to HD/Lowes and pick up a new one.

Libero 05-16-2014 08:06 AM

I don't think a GFI plug will reset without power on it. Check powers source to GFI circuit to isolate problem.

mel s 05-16-2014 08:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DegoRed (Post 2054056)
Bad GFI plug, those things break all the time. Go down to HD/Lowes and pick up a new one.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Libero (Post 2054065)
I don't think a GFI plug will reset without power on it.

Tom222
I agree :thumb:
IMO, either you have a bad GFCI receptacle, or no power to that GFCI receptacle.
Mel
'96 Safari

Tom222 05-16-2014 08:14 AM

Tried it on DC and Genny



Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum


2007 Fleetwood Providence 40X
OurBigRVAdventure.com

Tom222 05-16-2014 08:16 AM

Can I use a regular house GFI?
Not one made for RV?

Tom




Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum


2007 Fleetwood Providence 40X
OurBigRVAdventure.com

DegoRed 05-16-2014 08:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tom222 (Post 2054080)
Can I use a regular house GFI?
Not one made for RV?

They are one in the same. Once again, go down to HD/Lowes, buy a new one and swap it out. IF that does not fix your problem, you have to do some digging, but why go to all the trouble of digging around before eliminating the simpleste solution first?

BigSkyBob 05-16-2014 08:24 AM

You can use a regular GFI receptacle. Replaced mine twice so far.

Tom222 05-16-2014 08:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DegoRed (Post 2054091)
They are one in the same. Once again, go down to HD/Lowes, buy a new one and swap it out. IF that does not fix your problem, you have to do some digging, but why go to all the trouble of digging around before eliminating the simpleste solution first?


Headed to store now, will let you all know in few minutes.

Tom


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum


2007 Fleetwood Providence 40X
OurBigRVAdventure.com

mel s 05-16-2014 09:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tom222 (Post 2054079)
Tried it on DC and Genny

Tom222
DC has "0" to do with GFCI receptacles.

BTW, all GFCI receptacles are not "created equal".....(as with most things, an expensive GFCI receptacle will outlive a cheap one).

Mel
'96 Safari

vsheetz 05-16-2014 10:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mel s (Post 2054180)
Tom222
DC has "0" to do with GFCI receptacles.

BTW, all GFCI receptacles are not "created equal".....(as with most things, an expensive GFCI receptacle will outlive a cheap one).

Mel
'96 Safari

And some don't like MSW inverters...

Tom222 05-16-2014 10:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tom222 (Post 2054099)
Headed to store now, will let you all know in few minutes.

Tom


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum


2007 Fleetwood Providence 40X
OurBigRVAdventure.com


Ok, replaced the GFI and this one is not working either, so the problem is at that plug, right? Now what is there a location that controls that plug?
Also I went ahead and replaced all the fuses that control the inside area.

Help...


Tom




Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum


2007 Fleetwood Providence 40X
OurBigRVAdventure.com

Tom222 05-16-2014 10:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vsheetz (Post 2054244)
And some don't like MSW inverters...


I replaced the GFI with the exactly the same model, you can't tell them apart.

Tom


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum


2007 Fleetwood Providence 40X
OurBigRVAdventure.com

terry735001 05-16-2014 10:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vsheetz (Post 2054244)
And some don't like MSW inverters...

is right



all so your GFI can cut power to plugs down the line so you may have power to it and it be bad

but some one else was all so right if no power is making it to it .. it well not reset .. its needs power


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:54 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.