iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (https://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   National RV Owner's Forum (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f105/)
-   -   Adding receptacles to inverter circuit. (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f105/adding-receptacles-to-inverter-circuit-205082.html)

LakeKerrGuy 05-25-2014 08:24 AM

Adding receptacles to inverter circuit.
 
A drawing I have (think it came from TheBerrys) shows the receptacle above the dining table on the inverter. It isn't in my 1999 Tradewinds 7371.

I want to add a couple of receptacles to an inverter circuit. One will be in the wall of the cabinet beside the sofa. This one will be specifically for my sons cpap. The over will be in the end wall of the sink cabinet - under the flip up counter. Any suggestions where I can tap the inverter circuits.

The drawing mentioned above shows a junction box in the microwave circuit. The drawing says see drawing #6 which I do not have. Where is the junction box.

Another point of confusion - the 30 amp subpanel under the sink feeds the GFCI circuit in the galley AND it has a circuit going to the water heater. My water heater is electric only. Why is there a 120 vac circuit going to it?

Skip426 05-25-2014 01:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LakeKerrGuy (Post 2066507)
Another point of confusion - the 30 amp subpanel under the sink feeds the GFCI circuit in the galley AND it has a circuit going to the water heater. My water heater is electric only. Why is there a 120 vac circuit going to it?

:confused: Confusion continues with this statement .
If water heater is electric only , then it needs the 120v circuit to operate.
If you meant to say heater is propane only, then the circuit could be a factory pre-wiring for a dual 120/LP unit.

Before you add to the inverter, circuits , check the output watts of the inverter. The unit may not be big enough to handle a CPAP, particularly if it has a humidifier.

mel s 05-25-2014 03:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LakeKerrGuy (Post 2066507)
I want to add a couple of receptacles to an inverter circuit. One will be in the wall of the cabinet beside the sofa. This one will be specifically for my sons cpap.

LakeKerrGuy
My CPAP has a "120VAC to 12VDC power supply/converter". That power supply draws 80 watts when the CPAP is on/operating, (2.5 watts when not running but plugged in).

However, since my CPAP runs on 12VDC, I never use that "CPAP power supply" in my coach.
I simply use a 12VDC power cord power like this:
https://www.superbrightleds.com/morei...-adapter/1006/
https://www.irv2.com/forums/data:imag...BERAREQEREH//Z
https://www.irv2.com/forums/data:imag...BERAREQEREH//ZA CPAP uses far less battery power when powered directly from the batteries via a 12VDC cord than it does if/when the batteries have to power an inverter, to make 120VAC, which is then converted back to 12VDC by the CPAP power supply.
Mel
'96 Safari

LakeKerrGuy 05-25-2014 05:48 PM

Skip, I really blew that question. Yes, I meant to say it is propane only. However, today I got a big surprise when I traced the wiring to the water heater. It is a combo. I found a rocker switch on the back of the heater. This is behind a removable panel under the sink/ stove area. Stupid me flipped the switch. I do not know 100% if it was on or off. It will now not flip back.:mad:

I bought the rig a year ago and PO told me it was a propane only. I never checked anything except lifting the outside cover to drain.

I have now gone back and read the manual for the heater. It says to use on electric turn it on at the switch - the one on the heater and BEHIND the panel!! Doesn't seem practical to me. Would be a huge pia to go between propane and electric. I'm pretty sure the switch was on but apparently not working because I know its heated on propane when we were dry camping. Since the heater has no water right now, and I do not know if the switch is on or off, I lifted the hot wire in the J box AND left the breaker off in the sub panel.

LakeKerrGuy 05-25-2014 06:11 PM

Mel and Skip, thanks for the replies.
 
My son has already used his cpap in the coach. He when to Gaffney with me last week. The two nights wal docking and cracker docking I had to run an extension cord to the outlet in the bathroom. Except for the TV's, that is the only outlet on the inverter inside the coach.

I had read that a cpap may not work on a MSW. It worked but he said he could tell the difference.

I found the junction boxes for the inverter circuits. The circuit for the TV's, outside receptacle, and bathroom is in a J box in the #1 furnace room. Although I do not intend to do so, it would be a piece of cake to add a line to the frig from this location. I am going to install a receptacle above the heat register in the hall - again it is too easy to imagine.

The J box for the microwave circuit right beside the subpanel below the sink. I looked at it yesterday, but could not envision they would have used a SO cord as the home run. I will tap here to install a receptacle under the flip up counter and by the sofa.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.