iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (https://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   New Member Check-In (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f61/)
-   -   Planning for RVing in retirement (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f61/planning-for-rving-in-retirement-215073.html)

Ron750 08-10-2014 01:01 PM

Planning for RVing in retirement

Hello everybody. I have been married 33 years this month. When I was younger, I would tell my wife that I would love to have a motorhome or trailer when we retired, and go where the wind blows us. She always said she would rather have a motel room every night.

Last night she was at a Brewer's game, and talking to my SIL. They informed me they had planned mine and my BIL's retirement. I got mentally prepared for an argument, and they said they would like us to travel the US together on a RV.

OK, I'm in! I would think 2 couples being together all the time would require some space, like a Class A motorhome, so I am here to find out. When I was a graduate student in Chicago, I drove a CTA bus, so 40 ft vehicles don't scare me.

JohnRR 08-10-2014 01:10 PM

:welcome:
Good luck with your plans.

TonyDi 08-10-2014 01:27 PM

Glad to have you here with us.

You made a choice for retirement you won't regret. Good luck on your search for the perfect COW (Condo On Wheels).

Happy Trails!!!

MSHappyCampers 08-10-2014 01:27 PM

Hi Ron! Welcome to IRV2! It's great to have you join the gang! :dance:

Hope the retirement works out good for you!

Good luck, happy trails, and God bless! :thumb::D

tomwalt 08-10-2014 01:39 PM

Welcome to IRV2 and retirement planning. We'd love to help you spend your $$ :>).
We got our Class A 2 years prior to retirement to learn and work out the bugs (while we still had an income). Turned out to be a good idea for us.
Only you can decide on what is right for you (well, maybe a good idea to have the wife participate).