iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (https://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   National RV Owner's Forum (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f105/)
-   -   TV in basement ideas (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f105/tv-in-basement-ideas-250964.html)

gjtrafl 06-17-2015 09:06 PM

TV in basement ideas
 
So I would like to get a TV going in the basement storage compartment under the awning.

Does anyone have any pictures, ideas, suggestions on getting one going? Wondered about how you mounted it, how you supplied a signal to the TV, etc... any help greatly appreciated.

GREGORYJ 06-18-2015 12:24 AM

I built a wooden encloser , covered with carpet, and mounted a 28" LCD LED TV on
a TV arm mounted on drawer slides. The "box" is 8" wide so I didn't lose too much
storage space. The Dolphin power and RF cable are just about the box. The arm(Costco) swings the TV around quite a bit and away from the walk in door and
tilts the TV screen up as well. 28 " was the largest size that would fit when stored away in this way, but check TV's cabinet size before buying a particular brand.
https://i60.tinypic.com/erzazt.jpg
https://i60.tinypic.com/2vmhbes.jpg
https://i59.tinypic.com/zwcett.jpg
https://i62.tinypic.com/qpgf8k.jpg

speed racer 06-18-2015 08:32 AM

If you don't have a connection in that compartment the cable will be wraped up in the wire bundle on the frame behind the steps. I had to unwrap a lot of tape but I found it and it was long enough to reach into this compartment.

Theberrys 06-18-2015 08:59 AM

I did one in a sliding drawer. Here is a video of how it works and a drawing of the construction. I never made a completed video after painting but will if your at all interested. I used Jack Nuts to mount the assembly in yo the underside of the floor.

https://onedrive.live.com/?cid=AE67F...2766057%213471

Dick

GREGORYJ 06-18-2015 07:28 PM

Dick, great job and presentation. I'm looking forward to seeing it when it's complete & installed.

gjtrafl 06-18-2015 08:13 PM

WOW! Great ideas and great presentations! Thanks so much for sharing! If anyone else has something different please don't hesitate to share. This is all giving me great ideas. Also thanks for the message about where to find the cabling.

Gerryl 06-19-2015 11:26 AM

Nice job Greg :thumb: :bow: :thumb:.

Wish I had that kind of room to do the same.

brabono 06-19-2015 12:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by speed racer (Post 2608696)
If you don't have a connection in that compartment the cable will be wraped up in the wire bundle on the frame behind the steps. I had to unwrap a lot of tape but I found it and it was long enough to reach into this compartment.


What year is your Rv? I have 2004 seabreeze, wondering if I have the same cabling for the compartment

brabono 06-19-2015 12:59 PM

Oops, 2006 seBreeze

MikeandRuth 06-20-2015 01:57 PM

We have Dish with the Hopper and a wireless Joey for the rear and outdoor TV"s. We have one Joey and move it between the two TV's.
That way all you need is a duplex AC outlet.
Much easier than running coax or HDMI cables.

frede 02-21-2019 09:31 AM

I never liked the idea of watching TV with the RV as the background when their's typically a nicer background behind me. Since I use a HDMI to SDI Converter to send the signal from my HDMI Switcher to feed the rear TV equipped with a SDI to HDMI Converter. When parked we pull the rear TV and converter out of the bedroom and place it in an outside chair. I then connect the Park Cable feed to the HDI to SDI converter. and connect a 25' cable to the Park Cable input jack in the wet bay and feed it to the SDI to HDMI converter on the outside TV. It works great, it's quick and easy and I can see what is going on around me.

Joepacifica 02-27-2019 09:51 PM

What is a wireless Joey? I have a traveler on roof and we bought a Wally. It feeds the main tv and is wired to the midship tv. I also have a bedroom tv. I have managed to connect it to the he antenna, but no blueprint on the wiring. I bought a tone generator and will try to trace the coax wires. This has a couple triple rca switch boxes, so it will be complicated. I would like to feed 3 TVs with hdmi feeds. Not sure how to do this yet. I only own ir for 60 days, so a lot to do. Any help appreciated

DjDave 04-17-2019 06:35 PM

I found a coax from the front overhead in the rear of the cabinet under the fridge in our 2000 Dynasty.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/KpzYEJQMe4puv8o89


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.