iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (https://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   Newmar Owner's Forum (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f103/)
-   -   GPS (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f103/gps-311267.html)

dcrna1 10-05-2016 08:10 AM

GPS
 
Anyone using the Garmin RV specific gps? LMT 660

Nana25K 10-05-2016 09:12 AM

We use a regular car GPS. We just don't trust or depend on it, or any other GPS for our route planning as things can change too often for it to keep up so ours is really just to monitor the route for exits etc.

We do use a Rand McNally Motor Carrier Road Atlas ( large print with coated pages) for route planning and if there's a concern we Google map it.

But we also try very hard to stay off if interstates.

lucyh 10-05-2016 09:13 AM

CoPilot phone app
 
I use the CoPilot for trucks app on my Android phone. It's cheaper than buying a dedicated GPS unit and I've been very happy with it. You can specify your height, weight, etc.

vsheetz 10-05-2016 09:16 AM

X2 on CoPilot app. I run it on a inexpensive 8" Android tablet.

Capt. Kirk 10-05-2016 10:08 AM

1 Attachment(s)
X3 on CoPilot. I run the RV version on an iPad Pro hung from the overhead cabinet on a Ram mount. This mount is super stable and keeps the display in front of me without creating a blind spot if it were mounted low on the dash.Attachment 140787

RJ51 10-05-2016 11:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Capt. Kirk (Post 3282531)
X3 on CoPilot. I run the RV version on an iPad Pro hung from the overhead cabinet on a Ram mount. This mount is super stable and keeps the display in front of me without creating a blind spot if it were mounted low on the dash.Attachment 140787

Great idea Captain, I'll have to consider that when I get mine. Did you screw the mount in or use a 3M double stick pad?

enjoyrv 10-05-2016 12:57 PM

Use Garmin 760 RV version. Like it.

HavingABlast 10-05-2016 02:42 PM

I also have the 760LMT RV model. I like that it has a large screen, free lifetime upgrades, and more importantly that the coach doesn't have to be stopped in order for DW to on the fly route changes.

Capt. Kirk 10-05-2016 06:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RJ51 (Post 3282666)
Great idea Captain, I'll have to consider that when I get mine. Did you screw the mount in or use a 3M double stick pad?


I used the Ram baseplate and screwed it into the backside of the cabinet.

The screen on the left is a Surface Pro where I run VMSpc software.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.