iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (https://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   Class A Motorhome Discussions (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f258/)
-   -   Use of tag axle (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f258/use-of-tag-axle-356265.html)

pplwizard 08-24-2017 12:24 PM

Use of tag axle

I'm new to using a tag axel... Can it stay down when turning normal corners on a street?

ColoradoBnd 08-24-2017 01:06 PM

I'm new to mine as well and interested in what people say. I've only released pressure on mine on very tight corners, not the normal 90 degrees around town. I always dump mine when backing 90 tight turns, but I understand it is supposed to dump itself in reverse. I have NOT heard it dump itself yet.

Lv2Roam2 08-24-2017 02:23 PM

Yes - in normal driving conditions the tag can remain 'down.' Note that some tags are 'liftable' and some are 'not liftable' (they have air bags that can be deflated).

Many tag systems' air bags will auto-deflate when the transmission is in reverse and the tag switch is set to 'auto.' Otherwise it requires a manual switch / button input. I keep my tag switch set to 'auto' for reverse action - and manually deflate the tag air bags when moving forward through tight corners at slow speeds in campgrounds, gas stations, etc. If you do not deflate the air bags cornering at slow speed going forward (and reverse) you will experience some tire edge scrub which is a known, expected affect and not a cause of meaningful tire problems.

Triker56 08-24-2017 02:36 PM

Doesn't lifting the tag put to much weight on the main axle tires? And put a lot of stress on them?
If not then what are the tags for or even needed?

I have seen them tare up a lot of grass in old campgrounds while trying to get in a site when tag isn't lifted.

Mr_D 08-24-2017 02:44 PM

Mine lifts. I usually don't bother with it unless doing a tight turn in a campground or into my driveway. It automatically lowers at between 8 and 10 mph.

ColoradoBnd 08-24-2017 02:47 PM

Quote: