iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (https://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   5th Wheel Discussion (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f44/)
-   -   How to reset GFCI outlet with no reset button??? (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f44/how-to-reset-gfci-outlet-with-no-reset-button-387569.html)

Mudfrog 04-18-2018 10:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrWzrd (Post 4144258)
But that is making the assumption that the offending outlets are actually on that GFI.

But, it doesn't hurt a thing to try it. The battle would be over if wire nutting the wires resulted in power coming back up downstream. Just one of the ways to narrow things down.

nothermark 04-18-2018 10:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrWzrd (Post 4144258)
But that is making the assumption that the offending outlets are actually on that GFI.

That is what one finds out by doing that. If one of those moves does not fix the problem then it's time to look for why. Just good, basic, trouble shooting.

egwilly 04-18-2018 02:54 PM

I had this exact issue on our last trailer. Found the culprit....was a GFCI hidden in a kitchen cabinet for the microwave. :rolleyes:
It's not likely that a wire has come loose.....backtrace with a VOM to find it.

Off Road 04-18-2018 03:35 PM

I think Old Biscuit has the simplest answer. My bet is a wire fell off the next outlet in the circuit. If it worked originally then that eliminates the GFCI being wired incorrectly. There could be another GFCI somewhere but if there are wires coming out of this one headed somewhere else, then that is not likely.

ALLOY 04-18-2018 09:21 PM

1 out if 8 GFI don't work or stop working....why GFI need to be tested on a regular basis. New GFI breakers are (should be) self testing.

Given the quality of the wiring where are the Arc Fault breakers in RVs.

anthonynalli 04-18-2018 10:17 PM

I replaced the GFCI and everything is exactly the same. The dealer confirmed with Keystone that all the GFCI outlets are in fact daisy chained and the only reset in the system is in the bathroom. So that leaves me thinking the problem may be more serious and beyond my very limited electrical skillset.

anthonynalli 04-18-2018 10:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bruceisla (Post 4143817)
My vote is for another GFI with a reset somewhere. I have 2 in the kitchen and 1 in the hall bath.

According to Keystone via the dealer, the bathroom is the only GFCI outlet.

anthonynalli 04-18-2018 10:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nothermark (Post 4144002)
You really would get much better results if you picked up a $20 multimeter and learned how to use it. Voltage readings mean a lot more than just "looks OK".

I really should do that. Electrical work has always kind of scared me a bit.

anthonynalli 04-18-2018 10:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bddadles (Post 4144124)
You have not mentioned where you are located. One of use may be close to assist.

I have to agree that you probably have another GFCI you have not found yet. Check if the microwave plug is a GCFI. It is probably in a cabinet. After that things have been covered pretty well.

Brad

I'm in Toronto. If the microwave is GFCI, then it's its own circuit as the microwave works but the other stuff in the kitchen plugged into GFCI-protected outlets don't.

Winemaker2 04-19-2018 06:20 AM

When you've exhausted simple fixes you might considet taking the unit back to the dealer. Park it in an obvious spot on their lot with a sign in window or outside that reads...
Bought this x wks ago
Elec outlets don't work
Dealer / mfg no help resolving the problem.

I bet they will get right on it.

I have heard of others doing exactly this when told by dealer it would be x weeks before they could get them... scheduled changed rather quickly.
You need to be firm at times!

bddadles 04-19-2018 07:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by anthonynalli (Post 4145431)
I'm in Toronto. If the microwave is GFCI, then it's its own circuit as the microwave works but the other stuff in the kitchen plugged into GFCI-protected outlets don't.

I'm in Alabama so I'm to far away. I'm not sure what else to suggest. If the rig is brand new the dealer should be helping. It is possible to call a mobile guy but you would have to pay him. What follows is just me thinking out loud about what I would be checking. You may have done all of them.

1)Get a voltmeter.
2) If the one GFCI they say you have (and I'm not sure I would take their word as gospel) is not tripped. Just because there is only supposed to be one doesn't mean someone didn't put in another one. I would look at the breaker box for a tripped breaker or a GFCI breaker. Just maybe the non working outlets have their own breaker.
3) I would do a careful search of the rig and locate every outlet in it. Check all the cabinets. Check the basement.
4) Use the volt meter and start at the GFCI to see if the power is leaving the output side. It is possible BUT highly unlikely that the new GFCI is bad.
5) Start checking down the line and start pulling outlets to check for loose or broken wires.

Did the outlets ever work since you have had the unit? If they did work something came loose or tripped and you just have to find it. If they never worked I'm not sure exactly what to tell you right now.
Good Luck.

Brad

glarnold 04-19-2018 08:21 AM

I'm curious, and trying to follow this - you said "... the other stuff in the kitchen plugged into GFCI-protected outlets don't" ... how do you determine that these are GFCI protected outlets?

Another thought - I've had these protected outlets, where you you couldn't reset them with your finger, but had to use a pointed thingy to really push them in.

L0veless 04-19-2018 09:35 AM

Anthonyalli,
I would go over to Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum and post over there before getting to deep into this.
I'm sure there are other owners with the same model that can help you out (as far as locating the other GFCI).
the big issue is the factory has no idea and your dealer is clueless. hope I don't get in trouble for this post.

egwilly 04-19-2018 10:48 AM

Most, if not all GFCI should be marked whether or not they have test buttons. The mfg put labels or lettering on the face to let you know it part of a daisy chained circuit.
I found this out once when the outside patio duplex was dead.....there were no test buttons on them, once I reset the kitchen plug, all was good.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.