iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (https://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   iRV2.com General Discussion (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f59/)
-   -   Insulated glass.... What if? (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f59/insulated-glass-what-if-409647.html)

uglyhog 09-04-2018 09:17 PM

Insulated glass.... What if?

What if I just break the inside window? (inside lite for those that understand insulated windows)
It's tempered, so it would be really easy to break it. Just a mess.

So instead of replacing the whole thing, why not?
It only takes a light tap to make it explode.
Inside lite gone. Outside lite just needs to be cleaned.

Remember I'm just a stupid truck driver trying to save money.

grindstone01 09-04-2018 09:22 PM

Or contact a window repair shop. They should be able to order a tempered glass replacement.

uglyhog 09-04-2018 09:30 PM

Foggy glass, they want to much money to fix / replace.

Yaj 09-04-2018 09:45 PM

I did just what your thinking of doing.
I then taped around the window and calked over the broken pieces that stayed stuck in the frame. I left the little pieces in the frame to help hold it all together.

uglyhog 09-04-2018 09:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Yaj (Post 4383966)
I did just what your thinking of doing.
I then taped around the window and calked over the broken pieces that stayed stuck in the frame. I left the little pieces in the frame to help hold it all together.

Thank you.

ScoobyDoo 09-05-2018 07:51 AM

Would it be better to use a glass cutter?

cataska 09-05-2018 07:56 AM

Might be better to fix it right, cheap usually turns to expensive.

uglyhog 09-05-2018 08:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ScoobyDoo (Post 4384368)

Tempered glass cannot be cut.

uglyhog 09-05-2018 08:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cataska (Post 4384373)
Might be better to fix it right, cheap usually turns to expensive.

I respectfully disagree.

Tha_Rooster 09-05-2018 10:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ScoobyDoo (Post 4384368)

You canít cut tempered glass.