iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (https://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   Entegra Owner's Forum (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f278/)
-   -   Furrion cooktop disappointing (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f278/furrion-cooktop-disappointing-432850.html)

Stoch 03-01-2019 07:33 PM

Furrion cooktop disappointing
 
Hi all. 2019 aspire 44r with the 2 burner induction cooktop. Iím having some issues with cooking on this and am curious about others experience.

First it does not heat evenly. When I cook bacon it crisps in the middle but underdone on edges. Seems like the center 6 inches is all that heats

Secondly I really canít use two pans at once. I know total can only be heat ď10Ē between both but it seems like if I set both to 5 neither gets hot.

Lastly it seems to cycle quite a bit. Like it just heats for a while and then stops for a minute or so

Do I have a bum unit or is this how these things work?

Using duxtop pans that are induction specific...

DoggieDaddy 03-01-2019 08:51 PM

Sorry but your two burner induction top will only produce 1800 watts max between both burners. They are programmed to balance the wattage. Your coach is wired to deliver only 120 volts single phase to your cook top. If you only use one burner you may get the full 1800 watts on that burner. Induction cookware and burners a notorious for having hot center spots. We shut down our electric top to go induction with a single burner unit. Still better than the spooky electric top in our classic. We are gourmet conscious cooks and demand performance from our equipment. If I could equip this unit with a residential gas burner stove, I would be in heaven. However the RV gas stoves also suck big time. To have a REAL oven again is also a dream of mine.

Victory Blue 03-01-2019 09:26 PM

On our 2 burner Furrion cooktops the actual heating area (where the magnetic field is produced) is only about 4Ē in diameter. Couple that with the limited power available from 120 volts and youíll find any pan larger than about 7Ē is not going to get uniformly hot across itís diameter. Itís even worse when the pan is made of a poor conductor like stainless steel.

Like microwaves, induction cooktops are either on or off; there isnít really a reduced power setting. So a setting of 3, for instance, means the cooktop constantly cycles on and off to maintain a low heat.

Lastly, the market is loaded with cookware that is labeled for use with induction but does a poor job. The stronger a magnet is attracted to the bottom of the pan the better the pan will work on induction. Try a cast iron pan for your bacon.

Iím with doogiedaddy - Iíd love to have a residential style gas cooktop.

brobox 03-02-2019 05:38 AM

Bill is correct. There have been several post with your stated problems. Many found their cookware to be the problem as Bill stated, magnet test the cookware. A few did have defective unit, others did not like the Furrion for the center heat only.

https://www.irv2.com/forums/f278/indu...7s-317294.html

https://www.irv2.com/forums/f278/swit...ml#post4171458

https://www.irv2.com/forums/f278/swit...ml#post4171458

https://www.irv2.com/forums/f278/swit...ml#post4171458

Lots of good reading, it gives us an idea what to expect from our new induction cooktop that we haven't used yet. Love the one in the S&B the new MH remains to be seen.

DavidH2 03-02-2019 05:56 AM

We were introduced to induction cooking in an urban high rise condo that had no gas available. All ranges were induction. We bought the Circulon brand cookware set at Costco which has a thick FLAT metal base on each piece. They work fantastically well in our 16 45A CS. DW loves the pans (non stick) so much she uses them at our sticks and bricks on the big 6 burner gas stove because the bottom design creates such even heating.

Dippelj 03-02-2019 07:43 AM

Same issues with our 2019 Anthem. Iím not an electrician but Iím thinking there is a very easy solution to this for future builds. Why not equip these units with two single cooktops on separate breakers. I know it would mean running another set of wires from the panel to the cooktop but that should be easy to do when these units are being built. That would give full power to both. Am I missing something here that would keep this from working?

Rollin101 03-02-2019 08:37 AM

For the bacon part, why would you cook bacon on the cooktop when the microwave is probably the best bacon cooker you can find.

lwmcguire 03-02-2019 08:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DavidH2 (Post 4658398)
We were introduced to induction cooking in an urban high rise condo that had no gas available. All ranges were induction. We bought the Circulon brand cookware set at Costco which has a thick FLAT metal base on each piece. They work fantastically well in our 16 45A CS. DW loves the pans (non stick) so much she uses them at our sticks and bricks on the big 6 burner gas stove because the bottom design creates such even heating.

We use the same and on all the cook tops in s&b and Tuscany

Cheaper ones without the heavy pad don't perform well

lwmcguire 03-02-2019 08:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rollin101 (Post 4658615)
For the bacon part, why would you cook bacon on the cooktop when the microwave is probably the best bacon cooker you can find.

Agreed, a microwave bacon cooker wins out

brobox 03-02-2019 09:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lwmcguire (Post 4658642)
We use the same and on all the cook tops in s&b and Tuscany

Cheaper ones without the heavy pad don't perform well

X2 found the same thing out, without the heat disbursement bottom, the results were marginal. Gave our pans away that passed the magnet test, but did not have the bottoms.

Stoch 03-02-2019 10:22 AM

Lots of great replies here. Thanks to all. I had heard of microwave bacon before but assumed it had to be inferior, Iíll look into that.

Also going to look at the circulon pans.

I agree with having two single burner units, that would seem to be a better solution, Iím sure the added expense of two separate circuits under the stove would be minor at build but probably an invasive and expensive retrofit

Nowabeachbum 03-02-2019 10:39 AM

I’m guessing the single circuit vs dual circuit is based on power consumption. One circuit would be 15 amps two would be 30!

lwmcguire 03-02-2019 12:27 PM

We also have a single induction cook top that we plug in in the nook side, different circuit if needed

Gary.Jones 03-02-2019 01:49 PM

Stoch:

Here is a link to a thread that I put up here dealing with the same issue as you are discussing. A lot of good information in it as well as some specific performance data on a standard amount of water and times for units to bring that water to a rolling boil.

https://www.irv2.com/forums/f278/indu...op-342782.html

Good luck figuring it out. My unit was actually a bad unit. if I had to guess, I would bet that the wiring was backwards and it was in temperature mode rather than power mode.

Gary


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.