iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (https://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   Monaco Owner's Forum (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f115/)
-   -   12 volt cigarette plug in basement (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f115/12-volt-cigarette-plug-in-basement-497906.html)

windsorbill 07-20-2020 05:36 PM

12 volt cigarette plug in basement
 
Anyone know where the 12 volt cigarette lighter in basement gets power? Mine is dead. Been that way as long as I can remember. Iíve check all fuses in dc box. All other similar outlets Throughout coach are getting 12 volts.

Ted Lambert 07-20-2020 05:47 PM

Keep looking look for a inline fuse. I would say not in a fuse panel. I had one in a harness under the frame that I found by accident.
Anybody who buys a new unit motor home or trailer is wise to look it over real close while everything is shiny.

jacwjames 07-20-2020 05:48 PM

I looked at my wiring schematics and it shows a "Bay 12 volt Recept" in the fuse panel in the bedroom. Slot # 11, 14 ga, 15 amp.

windsorbill 07-20-2020 06:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jacwjames (Post 5357824)
I looked at my wiring schematics and it shows a "Bay 12 volt Recept" in the fuse panel in the bedroom. Slot # 11, 14 ga, 15 amp.

Jim

I have that same labeled fuse but itís under driver seat, outside And labeled as #40 , I already checked that and fuse is good.

windsorbill 07-20-2020 07:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ted Lambert (Post 5357823)
Keep looking look for a inline fuse. I would say not in a fuse panel. I had one in a harness under the frame that I found by accident.
Anybody who buys a new unit motor home or trailer is wise to look it over real close while everything is shiny.

I guess thatís possible. It would be the first one I find on this coach however.

If I can tone it out, I might be able to verify or eliminate the possibility of a fuse somewhere.

96 Wideglide 07-20-2020 10:24 PM

Odd people back in 06' Bill :confused:

I've smoked most of my life, but never in the basement of any of my RV's!

windsorbill 07-20-2020 10:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 96 Wideglide (Post 5358236)
Odd people back in 06' Bill :confused:

I've smoked most of my life, but never in the basement of any of my RV's!

Hey Ben, if youíre smoking, can I assume your on fire and take appropriate actiion?:laugh::laugh:

96 Wideglide 07-20-2020 10:53 PM

NO :mad:!!!!!

:D

96 Wideglide 07-20-2020 11:07 PM

In 08' they only gave you one 12V cigarette lighter plug, in the center of the dash. I have a 3 way splitter in it feeding my GPS, tire monitor, and dash cam.
I've never smoked in my coach!
If they had put one in the bedroom, I could buy a converter for my CPAP, and run it without running the inverter all night, but, they didn't.

Nobody was still smoking in bed by 06',,,,, were they?

windsorbill 07-20-2020 11:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 96 Wideglide (Post 5358284)
In 08' they only gave you one 12V cigarette lighter plug, in the center of the dash. I have a 3 way splitter in it feeding my GPS, tire monitor, and dash cam.
I've never smoked in my coach!
If they had put one in the bedroom, I could buy a converter for my CPAP, and run it without running the inverter all night, but, they didn't.

Nobody was still smoking in bed by 06',,,,, were they?

Interesting. I originally had 3 lighters on the dash plus the one in the basement. I changed one to a USB. The others may follow, not sure yet. That’s kinda what started this thread in the first place. My son bought a new toy box fifth wheel. It doesn’t have any cigarette lighters. All USB.

My 10 year old grand son didn’t even know what a cigarette lighter is.

96 Wideglide 07-20-2020 11:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by windsorbill (Post 5358303)

My 10 year old grand son didnít even know what a cigarette lighter is.

Good!

Don't tell him!

K7JV 07-21-2020 07:47 AM

I have found issues in the past with the ground connection on devices that are in the below the floor compartments. Probably not your problem, but could be. Maybe test that by checking voltage from the center "button" to a known ground.

paul65k 07-21-2020 08:17 AM

Have you checked the recepticle itself? It could have been shorted in the past, blown the fuse and then the fuse got replaced and the outlet is still bad....happens and people just say "The heck with it" I don't use it much anyhow ;)

I'd pull the receptacle out and check for power, then it could be as simple as replacing the outlet......may also want to add some USB plugs there while you're at it ;)

I added a few of these throughout our coach.

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

windsorbill 07-21-2020 09:30 AM

Jim and Paul

Thanks for your comments.

One of the first things I did was check the wires coming into to outlet. . I didn’t try using a separate ground near the plug, however.

Also like your idea about that dual purpose plug.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.