iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (https://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   Cummins Engines (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f123/)
-   -   ISC 315 - Can it be powered up? (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f123/isc-315-can-it-be-powered-up-506817.html)

BobJones 09-16-2020 01:17 AM

ISC 315 - Can it be powered up?
 
Hi folks!

I have a 2000 ISC315 and seem to have heard that they came in different power outputs. Is that done by software? How high can they go? How much does it cost?

Also, on test drives the turbo boost seems to not go any higher than between 20 and 25 on the gage. Is that normal? How should I test that?

Newby driver here, two test flights and counting....

jcussen 09-16-2020 10:37 AM

Get the CPL [Cummins Parts List] off the tag on the engine block, and call Cummins and give them that number, they can then tell you if your engine can be upgraded. If you can, you need to find a Cummins shop with Insite program and they can do it via engine diagnostic port. I paid $450 to do an older coach I had.

BobJones 09-16-2020 12:59 PM

Thanks for the info! Was it worth it? Did you notice a difference?

wolfe10 09-16-2020 01:06 PM

Bob,


It is/should be more than a question of "can I get more HP?".


The time you will most want that extra HP is on long grades.


Here, the COOLING SYSTEM CAPACITY will likely limit what you can do. Said another way to generate more HP, you WILL generate more heat. Very few DP cooling systems were over-sized enough to handle more than their designed heat load.

jcussen 09-16-2020 02:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BobJones (Post 5442913)
Thanks for the info! Was it worth it? Did you notice a difference?

I upgraded from 450 hp 1450 ft/lbs of torque to 500 hp 1550 ft/lbs of torque. I always install a pyro and the ability to read boost pressure to give me an instantaneous picture of engine load without having to rely on rising water temps. On my coach the cooling was adequate to handle the increased heat with no problems. But as Wolfe said, not all coaches have cooling systems that can handle big hp gains.
I was happy with mine, not really noticeable except for the the increased merging speed when getting on to a freeway and the ability to stay out the the slow lane on many hills.
I had a ISC 350 and when I called Cummins, they said I was already maxed out. That engine had 350 hp and 1050 ft/lbs of torque. Good luck on your upgrade.

Ray,IN 09-16-2020 09:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jcussen (Post 5443050)
I upgraded from 450 hp 1450 ft/lbs of torque to 500 hp 1550 ft/lbs of torque. I always install a pyro and the ability to read boost pressure to give me an instantaneous picture of engine load without having to rely on rising water temps. On my coach the cooling was adequate to handle the increased heat with no problems. But as Wolfe said, not all coaches have cooling systems that can handle big hp gains.
I was happy with mine, not really noticeable except for the the increased merging speed when getting on to a freeway and the ability to stay out the the slow lane on many hills.
I had a ISC 350 and when I called Cummins, they said I was already maxed out. That engine had 350 hp and 1050 ft/lbs of torque. Good luck on your upgrade.

I have the same ISC 350, last July I asked the service manager of Cummins Great Plains about the cost of uprating to 380 HP, the maximum stock HP from Cummins. He said yes, then said it would cost me $700. I came home with the same 350HP.

jcussen 09-16-2020 09:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ray,IN (Post 5443492)
I have the same ISC 350, last July I asked the service manager of Cummins Great Plains about the cost of uprating to 380 HP, the maximum stock HP from Cummins. He said yes, then said it would cost me $700. I came home with the same 350HP.

Appears it varies from place to place. When I got my 500 hp tune, Cummins Southern Plains said no way, found a local Cummins shop with authorized Insite computer, he ran my CPL and said he would do the tune. I was not too worried about the hp, just wanted the fatter torque curve.

BobJones 09-17-2020 04:32 PM

Interesting. I suspect it's less that they are doing a 'tune' and more that Cummins has different programs for different power demands.

I asked them today about my ISC 315 and they looked into it and found that, without changing parts, they could turn it into an ISC 350 - that's it. Their recommendation was not do it because the torque increase did not warrant it.

I'm looking into getting an Insite setup and if I can find the file somewhere I'll do it. But it doesn't sound like it's worth paying for.

jcussen 09-17-2020 05:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BobJones (Post 5444603)
Interesting. I suspect it's less that they are doing a 'tune' and more that Cummins has different programs for different power demands.

I asked them today about my ISC 315 and they looked into it and found that, without changing parts, they could turn it into an ISC 350 - that's it. Their recommendation was not do it because the torque increase did not warrant it.

I'm looking into getting an Insite setup and if I can find the file somewhere I'll do it. But it doesn't sound like it's worth paying for.

Yes tune is the wrong word. Cummins has a complete ECM program for each hp rating. Good luck on the Insite setup. My Cummins guy said he pays $4000 a year for an official Cummins supplied computer and some extra for every program he downloads.

BobJones 09-17-2020 05:41 PM

I did the same with my Mercedes. I have the same gear the dealership has when they work on the car. China is copying a LOT of that stuff and they have even repaired my car remotely from China (!!). It was really something to see.

So far it looks like $200 will do it for all the Cummins gear. As for tune files or updating the ECU, I won't know until I get there but the equipment can do it.

Dark Sky 09-18-2020 05:33 PM

Don't forget to look into the torque limitation of your transmission, just in case.

BobJones 09-18-2020 07:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dark Sky (Post 5446264)
Don't forget to look into the torque limitation of your transmission, just in case.

Good point, thanks for reminding me :thumb:


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.