iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (https://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   RV Systems & Appliances (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f54/)
-   -   Inverter Mod...Why Not (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f54/inverter-mod-why-not-532958.html)

John Hilley 04-16-2021 02:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chuckbear (Post 5715428)
It has a twist on receptacle connection for one end of the shore power cable. The other end connects to a power pedestal right now. After the modification, I will be able to plug into a power pedestal OR the new inverter outlet inside the bay that holds the power cable which will match the 3-prong end of my shore power cable. Chuck

Your plan is sound. Just do as you planned.

chuckbear 04-16-2021 02:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jim58 (Post 5715434)
I'm with you so far. My question is why another receptacle? Why not get a plug that matches the receptacle you already have. The wire goes from the inverter to the receptacle you already have. When you have pedestal power, plug in from the pedestal. When you're rolling, plug in from the inverter. I don't understand the need for a second receptacle on a RV that already has a shore power receptacle. If there is one I'm all ears.


Jim58

The receptacle I already have is for the input of the 120 shore power to the RV. There is no other receptacle. The shore power is already connected to it. With the other end unplugged, there is no power coming from anywhere. It needs to be plugged into a power source on the other end. A wire needs to be run from the inverter, which is about 20 feet away from the compartment to an outlet in order to provide power to the RV. What you asking is like plugging one end of an extension cord into the opposite end. You're not going to get any power from it. One end needs to be connected to a power source and the other end connected to a load. This gives me the options to (A) plug into a power pedestal or (B) plug into the inverter outlet, which does not exist yet. Chuck

chuckbear 04-16-2021 02:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by John Hilley (Post 5715435)
Your plan is sound. Just do as you planned.

Thanks, Jim. I just wanted to be sure I didn't miss anything. Chuck

jim58 04-16-2021 02:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chuckbear (Post 5715439)
The receptacle I already have is for the input of the 120 shore power to the RV. There is no other receptacle. The shore power is already connected to it. With the other end unplugged, there is no power coming from anywhere. It needs to be plugged into a power source on the other end. A wire needs to be run from the inverter, which is about 20 feet away from the compartment to an outlet in order to provide power to the RV. What you asking is like plugging one end of an extension cord into the opposite end. You're not going to get any power from it. One end needs to be connected to a power source and the other end connected to a load. This gives me the options to (A) plug into a power pedestal or (B) plug into the inverter outlet, which does not exist yet. Chuck


You should probably have an electrician do this for you. You do not need a second receptacle if you already have one.

chuckbear 04-16-2021 05:15 PM

Just a little additional info. In my other life, I spent 30 years as a marine service tech doing electrical and electronics. My wife and I lived on our boats for over 30 years and traveled extensively. So this isn't my first rodeo. There are lots of similarities and some differences in boats and RVs so I don't mind asking for feedback to make sure I have all the bases covered. So the project to add an outlet for the shore power cord to the inverter will proceed. I'm hearing nothing that would concern me. Since running the new wiring will require spending some time under the RV running new wire, it will have to wait just a bit. As will a few other projects. Recent back surgery has slowed me down for a short time. Prior to surgery, I replaced two old-style TVs, ran a new HDMI cable from the front cabinet to a splitter for the sat receiver and the DVD recorder/ player to the main TV and then to the rear TV. A new dash radio, battery monitor, 4 new USB charger outlets at the dash, replacement thermostats for the front and rear AC, and heat to replace the old thermistors, and a few other minor upgrades. So maybe I need to take a break anyway. Thanks to those that provided some positive feedback. I hope you all won't mind if I come back on occasion and ask more questions, just to be safe. Chuck

kcmusa 04-16-2021 05:28 PM

I use this

https://www.amazon.com/GearIT-RV-Dog...65347656&psc=1

chuckbear 04-16-2021 05:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kcmusa (Post 5715610)

I wouldn't need it. If I install a 30 amp outlet to the inverter, I just plug in the power cord that is already there. Chuck

chuckbear 04-16-2021 06:08 PM

1 Attachment(s)
This isn't my setup but close to what I plan to do. It shows the outlet and the end of the shore power cord.. Chuck

Attachment 325239

Biljol 04-16-2021 09:15 PM

I guess I am confused on what youíre doing. My shore power outlet has no power to it from the inverter.

The shore power outlet is on the input side of a ATS/inverter.

The shore power outlet sends power to the inverter charger when plugged in via the main panel when Unplugged it has no power.

So if your idea is to use the power from the inverter to power the input side/main panel that would connect to the inverter input I donít think that would work.

The only other thing you could be doing is powering the main panel from the inverter. By plugging shore power into the inverter.

To do that you would need to turn off the breakers from the main panel to the inverter panel.

My suggestion would not require any new panels you should have a main panel and an inverter panel. For the outlet your want to power from the inverter that are not now powered form the inverter now just move the breaker from one to the other.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.