iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (https://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   Entegra Owner's Forum (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f278/)
-   -   Generator (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f278/generator-534484.html)

jmilner1234 04-27-2021 11:22 AM

Generator
 
When I activate the Magnum auto gen start the generator immediately cranks. I have reset the start voltage to 11.5 v. Just installed new house batteries and no change. Is on a 2016 Entegra Cornerstone.

Magic-carpet 04-27-2021 12:28 PM

Do you have it set to start with climate control requirements? Are any of your a/c's calling for heat or cooling?

jmilner1234 04-27-2021 03:04 PM

Generator
 
No, I made sure that the a/c & heat were off. The aqua hot system was also off.

SGTrvlr 05-06-2021 09:16 PM

Have you had the Command30 updated? If not contact Grover Simpson @ Onan Elkhart (574 262 4611) for update.

jmilner1234 05-07-2021 04:39 AM

Generator
 
No I have not. I will make that contact. Thanks!

Aangulo1 05-07-2021 05:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmilner1234 (Post 5741431)
No I have not. I will make that contact. Thanks!



Hey!! Let us know what they tell you!! Thanks!!

Gary.Jones 05-07-2021 06:00 AM

The advise to call Grover is good advice but not for the symptoms that you are having, I dont think. Grover was most involved in a problem with 15 vintage controllers that only tried to start generators once but if that one attempt was not successful, then it would not try again. Grover could reprogram the controller to let that happen maybe three times before it gave up. That is as I remember on my 2015 Anthem controller.

The OP's problem is very different. Usually that happened when you had a high demand AC advice turned on like an AC unit or heat pump and if you were not connected to commercial power, then as soon as you turned on the AGS option, your generator would turn over and run. The OP says he has all his high demand devices turned off.

Now, JMilner, please let us know, are you connected to commercial power when the AGS automatically starts or boondocking (off commercial power)? Also, if you have let the generator run, how long does it run and how much power is the inverter putting into the house battery banks (does it go into bulk charge??) etc.? What is your house battery bank voltage before you try to put it into AGS mode (what is the resting voltage of the bank)

Gary

757driver 05-07-2021 11:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmilner1234 (Post 5729130)
When I activate the Magnum auto gen start the generator immediately cranks. I have reset the start voltage to 11.5 v. Just installed new house batteries and no change. Is on a 2016 Entegra Cornerstone.

There is a setting in the Onan EC-30 panel that is labeled “SP sense”. SP sense stands for Shore Power sense. The options are before, after, or none. Depending on where yours is set now try setting it to “none” and see if that solves your problem. If not try the other setting that has not been used.

A start at voltage of 11.5v is getting rather low to reliably start the generator, try a setting of 12.0-12.1v.

jmilner1234 05-08-2021 05:20 AM

Generator
 
Information update:

When I tested the AGS mode shore power was disconnected. Both inverters were in the float mode with a voltage reading of 13.3 v. ......A/C, heat and the aqua hot was off.I did not check the inverter status while the generator was running.

I have found that both inverters are changing to a “no communication” mode
after setting up the AGS.

Gary.Jones 05-08-2021 09:21 AM

Hmmmmmmmm, that no communication message is something that I never saw with my Anthem and sounds important.

Gary

brobox 05-08-2021 10:34 AM

On the back side of the Command 30 there is a telephone communication wire. Mine came loose and had to be plugged back in. The front cover on the command 30 is magnetic, remove that and the screws holding the unit on are behind it.

jmilner1234 05-08-2021 01:19 PM

Generator
 
It will be later in the week before I can return to the motorhome. Will check the connections then.

757driver 05-09-2021 02:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmilner1234 (Post 5742648)
Information update:

When I tested the AGS mode shore power was disconnected. Both inverters were in the float mode with a voltage reading of 13.3 v. ......A/C, heat and the aqua hot was off.I did not check the inverter status while the generator was running.

I have found that both inverters are changing to a “no communication” mode
after setting up the AGS.

Don’t know where you are setting up the AGS but thought I would mention that the inverters AGS is not set up or connected so that could be where you are getting the “No Communication” message from. All AGS settings are done in the Onan EC-30 panel.

jmilner1234 05-10-2021 12:15 PM

Generator
 
Thank you 757 driver! I have been barking up the wrong tree. I was not aware that the AGS programming was controlled by the Onan EC-30.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.