iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (https://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f38/)
-   -   Death Valley (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f38/death-valley-535752.html)

burgmark 05-06-2021 07:04 PM

Death Valley

My wife and I are planning a three month RV tour of the western national parks starting with Arches and working our way clockwise to the Badlands. The dates we've chosen will put us at Death Valley the first week of June. My question, is it too hot that time of year to visit Death Valley in a motorhome? We will have full hookups and the motorhome has two 35,000 BTU air conditioners in a 35 foot motorhome. I'm new to RVing and wonder if the air conditioners will be able to maintain liveable conditions. I know that I need to cool down the motorhome before I arrive at Death Valley or at least cool it down gradually.

Shadowcatche 05-06-2021 07:24 PM

Did a geology field trip there in March 40+ years ago, one of the students had to be rushed to hospital with heat stroke. We camped there in December. It is the hottest place on earth,

Skip426 05-06-2021 07:29 PM

I drove across Death Valley in late May years ago 117 F in a car with no AC .
Nearest shade is 200 miles to the north.
We didn't stay long.

If your coach is dark colors ( brown/black ) you won't be able to stay cool , and doing anything outside past 9 am is just about impossible .

Lt Dan 05-06-2021 07:36 PM

You can stay in Lone Pine west of Death Valley where it's not nearly as hot. We were very comfortable there in late September while it was 106 at the bottom. It's about a 75 mile drive but there's a great RV park just outside of town, Boulder Creek Resort. There's also a lot to see around Lone Pine. If you are an old western movie buff, the Alabama Hills just outside of Lone Pine was location to well over 200 movies and shows. That area is still used in commercials. The movie museum in town is also well worth visiting.

tap4154 05-06-2021 07:50 PM