iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (https://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f53/)
-   -   Changing light switches to 110 volts (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f53/changing-light-switches-to-110-volts-537655.html)

My-SS 05-19-2021 09:07 PM

Changing light switches to 110 volts
 
Has anyone ever changed their light switches in a older (2000 Dutch Star) from 12 volt to 110 volt (LED lights - I know they are 12 volt) ) and ran it off a inverter.
I am wanting to add home automation to my coach and can do so by replacing the current light switches with "smart switches". However, the only ones I can find are 110 volts. So I was thinking, I could change the power source to 110 volts and use the "smart switches" and reduce the power to 12 volt on the other side of the switch to the light.

Another option I am looking at is "FIBARO RGBW", but need to research it more.

Thoughts?

Lt Dan 05-19-2021 09:30 PM

I would think it is almost impossible to change the lights to 120v. The current wiring is probably 14-16 gauge stranded wire and not suitable for 120. It would require running heavier gauge wire to the switch then installing a 120v-12v power supply at every switch. Your 12v system runs off the house batteries which are kept charged with the converter. The inverter changes 12v power back to 120v for TVs, etc.

Old-Biscuit 05-19-2021 09:48 PM

YEP......
12VDC wiring is your issue

docj 05-20-2021 09:33 AM

The OP might want to explore what's available in smart switches and bulbs for 12V systems; there may be more than he realizes.

I buy my LEDs from SuperbrightLEDs. Here's a link to the "smart devices" section of their website. https://www.superbrightleds.com/cat/smart-bulbs/

Piros1 05-20-2021 11:18 AM

What you wanting to do is mot impossible but a bad idea as others have pointed out. The wiring running your DC lights throughout the coach is two wires a positive and a ground stranded automotive wire not rated for the voltage your wanting to use. I’m sure there is a system that would do what you want to do with that operates on 12 bolt DC.

twinboat 05-20-2021 11:35 AM

Its not just the wiring, but they don't use fire resistant junction box's with low voltage wiring.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:59 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.