iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (https://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   iRV2.com General Discussion (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f59/)
-   -   Electrical question (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f59/electrical-question-545550.html)

GuyV 07-15-2021 10:22 AM

Electrical question
 
As a "new" class A coach owner, is it possible to run a small class A with the 50 amp power cord connected to a 30 amp service for any length of time? If not what would be the main problems??

Thanks for your help with this.

inthepines 07-15-2021 10:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GuyV (Post 5832813)
As a "new" class A coach owner, is it possible to run a small class A with the 50 amp power cord connected to a 30 amp service for any length of time? If not what would be the main problems??

Thanks for your help with this.

you would need an adapter to go from 50>30 amp and there should not be any problems.
the adapter will drop the one leg and provide the juice.

carybosse 07-15-2021 10:30 AM

Main issues may be the AC unit(s).

Duster73 07-15-2021 10:36 AM

I dont see a reason this would hurt it. I keep an adapter in my motorhome for this exact purpose. I dont ever do extended stays, but it should be fine.

As long as you dont go over 30amps at one time throughout the rid and overload your camper your good. The shore power breaker will NOT go off unless 50+A is applied, which in this case is bad(normally 30). Thats the only concern I can think of. I use my camper the same exact way I normally would and its perfect.

puttin 07-15-2021 10:43 AM

The black wire of the 30a side connects to both red & black of the 50 side....so both legs have power. But, as mentioned- you'll be limited in what you'll be able to use.

Alpine36 07-15-2021 11:16 AM

Our 50a coach rests at home on 30a all the time. Never an issue using a 50a to 30a dogbone adaptor. Generally we just run the absorption fridge, battery charge converter, perhaps one 800w heater in the winter and a couple LED lights. I wouldn't attempt to run both AC units simultaneously though. A good EMS with power monitor will indicate your power consumption limitations.

Sbrownstein 07-15-2021 11:38 AM

I run my Georgetown 335DS all the time on 30 amps. I do have a 50 amp system but in reality that is for units that have 2 ACs. Mine has only one. Always use electric HW, electric fireplace, residential reefer and AC on 30 amps. Never even popped the 30 amp pedestal once. You should be fine.

Psneeld 07-15-2021 12:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sbrownstein (Post 5832901)
I run my Georgetown 335DS all the time on 30 amps. I do have a 50 amp system but in reality that is for units that have 2 ACs. Mine has only one. Always use electric HW, electric fireplace, residential reefer and AC on 30 amps. Never even popped the 30 amp pedestal once. You should be fine.


Depending on the wattage of those appliances you could be very close to popping a CB. Possibly overloading the outlet when you first plug in. The RV should be fine with a 50A system, but the shore power side at 30 A continuous (say you had a 1500W water heater, a 1500W electric fireplace and a AC that drew 10A or 1200 watts).... you would be way over a 30A outlet rating.

Sbrownstein 07-15-2021 01:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Psneeld (Post 5832969)
Depending on the wattage of those appliances you could be very close to popping a CB. Possibly overloading the outlet when you first plug in. The RV should be fine with a 50A system, but the shore power side at 30 A continuous (say you had a 1500W water heater, a 1500W electric fireplace and a AC that drew 10A or 1200 watts).... you would be way over a 30A outlet rating.

Perhaps...but only Richard Nixon would turn up the AC and start a fire in the fireplace in the White House.

puttin 07-15-2021 01:29 PM

Wow, what brought that on?

Tha_Rooster 07-15-2021 01:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GuyV (Post 5832813)
As a "new" class A coach owner, is it possible to run a small class A with the 50 amp power cord connected to a 30 amp service for any length of time? If not what would be the main problems??



Thanks for your help with this.



The truth is yes but only if you watch you wattage. If you can get by with only running 1 air you should have no problems. Running 2 airs you would probably have around 6-8 amps left.

Sbrownstein 07-15-2021 01:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by puttin (Post 5833009)
Wow, what brought that on?

Running the fireplace and AC on 30 amps!!!!

twinboat 07-15-2021 02:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by inthepines (Post 5832818)
you would need an adapter to go from 50>30 amp and there should not be any problems.
the adapter will drop the one leg and provide the juice.

The adaptor powers up both legs, so your RV is sharing 30 amps instead of the 100 amps a 50 amp 120/240 service can supply.

twinboat 07-15-2021 02:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Duster73 (Post 5832834)
I dont see a reason this would hurt it. I keep an adapter in my motorhome for this exact purpose. I dont ever do extended stays, but it should be fine.

As long as you dont go over 30amps at one time throughout the rid and overload your camper your good. The shore power breaker will NOT go off unless 50+A is applied, which in this case is bad(normally 30). Thats the only concern I can think of. I use my camper the same exact way I normally would and its perfect.

The shore breaker is 30 amps. It will trip first.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.