iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (https://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   iRV2.com General Discussion (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f59/)
-   -   Electrical question (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f59/electrical-question-545550.html)

twinboat 07-15-2021 03:07 PM

Study hall time .

https://www.rvtechmag.com/electrical/chapter3.php

hohenwald48 07-15-2021 06:13 PM

I've never seen or heard of a 50 amp Navion. Was that some kind of special order?

twinboat 07-15-2021 06:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hohenwald48 (Post 5833310)
I've never seen or heard of a 50 amp Navion. Was that some kind of special order?

I didn't know they made class As.

Tha_Rooster 07-15-2021 08:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by twinboat (Post 5833353)
I didn't know they made class As.



Maybe op hasnít changed their profile?

Duster73 07-16-2021 07:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by twinboat (Post 5833041)
The shore breaker is 30 amps. It will trip first.

Got mixed up lol thanks for pointing that out.



But the OP should be good to go with his set up.

Ray,IN 07-16-2021 07:44 PM

A 30A circuit breaker has a maximum capacity of 3,600 watts, a 50A breaker has a maximum capacity of 12,000 watts.
To get an idea of what you may safely operate, got to page 8 of: https://cdn.ltvdns.com/leisurevans.c...r-Handbook.pdf

Sbrownstein 07-16-2021 08:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ray,IN (Post 5834671)
A 30A circuit breaker has a maximum capacity of 3,600 watts, a 50A breaker has a maximum capacity of 12,000 watts.
...

Do want to nitpick but not exactly! A 30A RV outlet has a maximum capacity of 3,600 watts, a 50A RV outlet has a maximum capacity of 12,000 watts. A 50 amp breaker has a capacity of 6000 watts.

Ray,IN 07-16-2021 08:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sbrownstein (Post 5834695)
Do want to nitpick but not exactly! A 30A RV outlet has a maximum capacity of 3,600 watts, a 50A RV outlet has a maximum capacity of 12,000 watts. A 50 amp breaker has a capacity of 6000 watts.

In the coach? Mine is a double breaker, levers fastened together. Cannot move just one.

twinboat 07-16-2021 10:01 PM

The 50 amp 120/240 volt breaker is called a double breaker. That's what's used.

Sundancer268 07-22-2021 03:47 PM

I run my 50 Amp Gulf Stream on 30 Amps a lot, Sometimes I can run both A/C units and sometimes I can't. I reset my Inverter Battery Charger as low as it will go if I want Both A/C units. It is a 50/50 gamble on the A/Cs.

70ChevelleSS 07-22-2021 04:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sbrownstein (Post 5834695)
Do want to nitpick but not exactly! A 30A RV outlet has a maximum capacity of 3,600 watts, a 50A RV outlet has a maximum capacity of 12,000 watts. A 50 amp breaker has a capacity of 6000 watts.

What Ray was saying but maybe wasn't real clear. A 50 amp 120v breaker has a capacity of 6,000 watts. A double pole, 240v, breaker has a capacity of 12,000 watts. 6,000 on each 50 amp hot leg.

Having said that we have run our 35' MH on 30 amps lots of time. Our power panel will shut power to different things based on how much is being used. We have basement air with 2 compressors. It will shut off the 2nd compressor if necessary, or the electric water heater, or the fridge. Not sure if your rig will manage the power that way but I really don't thing you'll have an issue. Just use a little common sense and don't try to run everything at the same time.

Cobra1025 07-22-2021 04:10 PM

30 amp 50 amp
 
You can run 30 amp on 50 amp RVís but not for long time. Also limit use of A/C units if you have 2. My problem at home running 30 amp on 50 amp wires causes burnt out plug ends. Your pushing out only 30amp and your rig wants 50amps, I burnt out several electrical male/female ends. This could also cause an electrical fire, so be very careful only do this short time and if your wires burn up start to reconsider going to 50 amp.

Pianotuna 07-22-2021 04:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GuyV (Post 5832813)
As a "new" class A coach owner, is it possible to run a small class A with the 50 amp power cord connected to a 30 amp service for any length of time? If not what would be the main problems??

Thanks for your help with this.


Yes, but you have to prevent going over 3600 watts of demand. It is possible to mintage the limitation by using a hybrid inverter charger.


In the old days before the "load support" inverter chargers, I would sometimes plug in only the converter, and then run the rest of the RV from the inverter.

THenne1713 07-22-2021 04:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GuyV (Post 5832813)
As a "new" class A coach owner, is it possible to run a small class A with the 50 amp power cord connected to a 30 amp service for any length of time? If not what would be the main problems??

Thanks for your help with this.

YES, but limit would be 3600 watts vs 12000 watts= (1-air cond)


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.