iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (https://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   RV Systems & Appliances (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f54/)
-   -   Question about emptying tanks (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f54/question-about-emptying-tanks-545902.html)

Azsnakelover 07-18-2021 01:47 AM

Question about emptying tanks

2 Attachment(s)
So, on my 5th wheel, the handles to open the gray and black tanks are obviously grey and black. However, there are labels over it that say the black one is the grey water, and the grey one is the black water. What do I trust? Lol. I need to dump soon and obviously it's my first time doing it. I'm aware this is probably a silly question. It's not the end of the world if I open the wrong one anyway. Just want to try to avoid it.

Massparanoia 07-18-2021 03:10 AM

Pull one and find out

dizcom 07-18-2021 04:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Massparanoia (Post 5836054)
Pull one and find out

I don’t see another way to check. Hook up your hose and pull one of the valves slowly. If you get a clear connector and put it at either the tank side (straight one) or the dump side (can get a clear elbow) you’ll be able to watch what comes out. Ask at the counter at the RV parts store if this doesn’t make sense. They’ll get you the right piece. You’ll be able to tell when your tank is empty also or if you got something stuck somewhere. They’re handy to have in any case.

Bobby F 07-18-2021 04:34 AM

Start draining one tank and watch your tank level indicators to see which is dropping.

Rick_V 07-18-2021 05:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dizcom (Post 5836067)