iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (https://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   Toads and Motorhome Related Towing (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f85/)
-   -   RVi 3 brake "searching" (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f85/rvi-3-brake-searching-551883.html)

2BoizRV 08-30-2021 09:38 AM

RVi 3 brake "searching"
 
We purchased an RVi 3 brake system for our Jeep GC that follows behind our 42' Tiffin in May and so far the tablet spends most of the drive time searching for the HUB and brake.
I've been in contact with RVi by phone several times and now by e-mail so its documented that I cant hold a signal but this is getting ridiculous.

Again today, before I ever started the MH up, I have the jeep on the tow bar and the tablet and hub sitting together on the dash and it just cycles back and forth between searching and connected.

Tech support says I'm getting wifi interference and gave me several things to try (like turning them all off) but come on, who doesn't have multiple wifi devises in now days.

Does any one else have this issue or is it just something unique to my set up?

Any ideas to keep this thing from continually flashing an alarm on the screen (I've already turned the volume off since it was driving me insane) would be appreciated.

Jeff

macnut 08-30-2021 11:34 AM

I had to move my hub to several spots in the RV before finding the best place for connecting the brake and TPMS reliably. For my RV, itís the middle of the bed.

Barneyb 08-30-2021 04:23 PM

I had to move mine to the bedroom, worked great after that. Also do you have wireless a wireless brake away device?

2BoizRV 08-30-2021 04:59 PM

reply
 
following RVi's instructions, I've had the HUB all over the bed, tried mounting it on the wall just outside the bathroom, moved the tablet to the middle of the dash so no obstructions and have a wired breakaway cord that runs from coach hitch to just under the electrical connection on the front of my Grand Cherokee.
Today before even starting up the coach, connected the TOAD to the MH, made the connection to the HUB and tablet while in the Jeep, walked to the entry door, up the steps, set things down on the dash and it disconnected. Had to repeat the process 4 times of power on / off the brake control, pair the tablet to the hub and repeat. Finally gave up and went on with pre-trip duties.
Spent most of the 250 mile journey with "searching" being displayed and RVi is being no help what so ever

pasdad1 08-30-2021 05:12 PM

Could be one of your other WiFi devices is sending out some interference that is not normal. No problems with mine.

Try turning off all other devices in your car or RV that could send out a signal. Even some LED bulbs send out lots of radio frequency interference when they are not supposed to.

Turning things back on one by one should lead you to the culprit.

Lowflyer1 08-31-2021 06:54 AM

Do you have power to the hub?
I thought that I saw somewhere that the hub should be in the rear of the coach for better reception with the RVibrake.

Or maybe it's not paired correctly. This is from the owner's manual:
"RVibrake3 does not come paired with Command Center tablet and hub. The following
steps will walk you through the one time pairing process...."


I just got RVibrake 3. I installed a CLA in the bedroom to power it. The hub does have a battery but I wanted to make sure it still works if the battery runs out of juice.
No problems after maybe 500 miles.

Bullitt6283 09-01-2021 05:13 AM

I've noticed 2 issues with my RVi3 system.
1. If not used for a while, I must reset the hub. Then it works fine.
2. Devices which use WiFi can interfere, especially if they're on or near the dashboard. I turned off the WiFi on my iPhone..



.

Peter M 09-01-2021 05:32 AM

Try reloading accessories and then pair up.

bydnar 09-01-2021 07:14 AM

I found that not only WIFI can interrupt the hub connection, but simple wireless devices, too. In my case, I found that a simple wireless thermometer was the culprit. I also had to provide a space between the Garmin navigator and the tablet. I don't know why so glitchy, but you must experiment with location of the tablet as well as the hub. Consider that ANY radio wave can disrupt the connection. Use trial and error methodology by separation and/or elimination of nearby devices.

Peter M 09-02-2021 05:11 AM

Another Issue, maintaining a charge with the tablet while traveling. Perhaps due to searching when the connection is lost to the TPM sensors or RVI break in the toad. Does anyone else have this issue?

bydnar 09-02-2021 07:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Peter M (Post 5898126)
Another Issue, maintaining a charge with the tablet while traveling. Perhaps due to searching when the connection is lost to the TPM sensors or RVI break in the toad. Does anyone else have this issue?

I have both the hub and tablet plugged into power whenever it is in use. I do not have the problem you're describing.

Bullitt6283 09-02-2021 08:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Peter M (Post 5898126)
Another Issue, maintaining a charge with the tablet while traveling. Perhaps due to searching when the connection is lost to the TPM sensors or RVI break in the toad. Does anyone else have this issue?

Quote:

Originally Posted by bydnar (Post 5898224)
I have both the hub and tablet plugged into power whenever it is in use. I do not have the problem you're describing.

Even between trips, I have the RV connected to shore power at home and the tablet and hub are powered. The tablet is not active, but its battery is being maintained.


.

Peter M 09-03-2021 05:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bullitt6283 (Post 5898245)
Even between trips, I have the RV connected to shore power at home and the tablet and hub are powered. The tablet is not active, but its battery is being maintained.


.

I was implying my hub is connected to power when having problems maintaining the charge. My coach is also on shore power at home. The RVI power source is connected to non-switched power.
One other issue my tablet does not boot up unless the USB cable is detached.

DGBPokes 09-03-2021 06:43 AM

I am installing my system today, so I appreciate all your comments.
Is it safe to say, that even with the connection problems, the brake unit is still working, if it has 12v power, going down the road?


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.