iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (https://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   Class A Motorhome Discussions (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f258/)
-   -   Air bag replacement (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f258/air-bag-replacement-558582.html)

kengardner 10-21-2021 07:14 AM

Air bag replacement

Hi , I have been looking at quite a few pre 2012 DPs and am curious about the longevity of the air bags and if any of you have had to replace them and what the approximate cost is. I am leaning towards the tag axle models and a few have up to 10 air bags so if they go bad it could add up to big $$$. I have no knowledge of this subject but have had air bags on pickup trucks go bad after 5 or so years. I did look at one that seemed to be sagging on one side so I thought maybe the air bags were leaking and ran away. Any thoughts ? Ken

oldmattb 10-21-2021 08:39 AM

We have had two air suspension coaches. I replaced the air bags at just under 20 years of age. They were ugly, but still working.

On our current coach, the air bags were about $100 each, and I replaced them myself.

I suspect you can put replacement off for another five years, if there is no visible damage. (Assuming 2012ish vintage!)

jacwjames 10-21-2021 08:41 AM

I had seen several posts on people replacing airbags on their coaches and actually posted a question on this. One recommendation was to inspect and check for air leaks using soapy water. So that's what I did and overall my ~20 year old air bags looked good so I decided not to replace. But I did go ahead and buy 2 spares and now carry them. I paid ~$311 for two. I believe I could replace if necessary, I carry enough tools to do it if I'm stranded and/or take it to a shop.

kengardner 10-21-2021 09:22 AM

Thanks for the info, PHEW !! I was afraid it would be one of those $800 per bag dealer repair things and take 3 months.

mj6599 10-21-2021 09:55 AM