iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (https://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   RV Systems & Appliances (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f54/)
-   -   12v fuse sizes Intellitec (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f54/12v-fuse-sizes-intellitec-581392.html)

jim58 05-21-2022 10:26 AM

12v fuse sizes Intellitec
 
I got bored today so I attempted to label the fuses for the 12v circuits. The Intellitec cover on the fuse panel isn't even close to what matches the actual circuits. The cover has most of the fuses at 20 amps but the actual circuit board that holds the fuses has 15 and 20 as the max for the different circuits. Right now most of the fuses are 20 on the board. Should I go by the cover or change the fuses out to match what the actual circuit board says is the max?


Note: Haven't been having any issues with any fuses blowing.



Jim58

MrMark52 05-21-2022 10:32 AM

Are you the first owner of the coach? If so, I would be asking the manufacturer why the fuses are over-rated for the markings on the board.

If not, and you don’t know the coach’s history, I would replace everything to be sized as indicated. I wouldn’t want my coach to burn down because “everything is ok”.
If you start blowing 15 amp fuses, time to investigate the problem circuits to determine cause and suitability of that circuit wiring to handle the additional 5 amp load.

jim58 05-21-2022 11:21 AM

I'm the second owner. The fuse panel cover and circuit board holding fuses has Intellitec on it. So Fleetwood electrical crew probably just slapped the cover on and used 20A fuses and didn't care to label or fuse the circuits correctly. I will replace the fuses with what is indicated on the circuit board.


Thanks


Jim58

MrMark52 05-21-2022 12:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jim58 (Post 6188941)
I'm the second owner. The fuse panel cover and circuit board holding fuses has Intellitec on it. So Fleetwood electrical crew probably just slapped the cover on and used 20A fuses and didn't care to label or fuse the circuits correctly. I will replace the fuses with what is indicated on the circuit board.


Thanks


Jim58

I doubt that Fleetwood touched the fuses and IntelliTec (as do virtually all manufacturers) usually ship panels that have fuses complete with the properly sized fuse for the circuit it is designed to protect.

If Fleetwood used oversized fuses then I would expect that they would have documented the change in the coach manual as well as labeling on the panel.

Your the 2nd owner - my bet is on the 1st owner not understanding what he was getting himself into or only had access to a pack of 20 amp fuses.

Neither was a smart decision to make without understanding the ramifications of such - electrical problems are not solved by changing to a larger fuse or breaker.

Kudo’s to you - Your doing the right thing!


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.