iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (https://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   Class A Motorhome Discussions (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f258/)
-   -   OBD2 Code Readers (https://www.irv2.com/forums/f258/obd2-code-readers-82108.html)

Richie 12-31-2010 07:10 PM

OBD2 Code Readers
 
We have just purchased a new 2011 Newmar Canyon Star on the Ford F53 chassis. Does anyone know if there is a OBD2 code reader that one can purchase at an auto parts store that will read fault codes for this rig? I have been told that most code readers only work on cars and light trucks under 8500 lbs. I understand that you need an expensive, specialized code reader for heavy duty truck chassises-like the ones truck dealers use. Is this correct? Any help is appreciated.

Gary RVRoamer 12-31-2010 08:07 PM

It should have a standard Ford V10 and ECM, so an OBD II reader should work fine. It's the big diesels that don't use OBD II.

Bug512 12-31-2010 08:12 PM

Look at the ScanGaugeII

According to their website it works on 1996 and newer.

It works fine on my 2004 Workhorse.

https://farm6.static.flickr.com/5001/...1c1395b5d9.jpg
ScanGauge II by Gene Martel's, on Flickr

UFO Pilot 12-31-2010 08:13 PM

I just bought and installed the Scan Gauge II Oemy's Web Site - OBD II Scan Tools. It reads the codes and a whole lot more. I paid $155 delivered to my door from Brazel's RV Centralia Washington when he had a Christmas special. Don't know what the regular price is but I am really happy with it.:dance:

Richie 12-31-2010 09:29 PM

Thanks guys. I have the scan gauge. I wanted something pacificly to read the codes. I'll keep looking. I will be buying a Equus 3100 for my cars and hope it works on the M/H.

Mike Canter 01-01-2011 07:51 AM

All OBD-11 systems from 1996 and on use the same code readers. It is mandated by the Federal Government.

JimM68 01-01-2011 08:02 AM

I have a code reader I bought at costco for 20 bucks.
Also have an ultrapower tuner.
Both read the codes from my V10 just fine

Hudsoner 02-18-2011 06:05 AM

Has anybody used the Ultra Gauge (https://www.ultra-gauge.com/ultragauge/index.htm)? It seems to do the same stuff that the Scan Gauge II can do, but is way cheaper.

Bug512 02-18-2011 07:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hudsoner (Post 792891)
Has anybody used the Ultra Gauge (https://www.ultra-gauge.com/ultragauge/index.htm)? It seems to do the same stuff that the Scan Gauge II can do, but is way cheaper.

From what I remember reading, it will not do the Allison Transmission temperature.

From their website, click "Guages" and it reads "UltraGauge currently does not support Manufacturer specific gauges such as Transmission temperature."

Hudsoner 02-18-2011 08:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bug512 (Post 792920)
From what I remember reading, it will not do the Allison Transmission temperature.

From their website, click "Guages" and it reads "UltraGauge currently does not support Manufacturer specific gauges such as Transmission temperature."

My unit has the Ford chassis and drive train. I wonder whether that would be supported. I like the looks of the thing and, of course, the price. But if it would not work, any price is to high!

ShabbyChic 02-18-2011 09:31 AM

Im new to this mh, Its a 93 Coachmen Royal in great shape. Im know the scan gauge only works on new 96 and up. What do we do? Is there a scanner gauge I could buy, I thinking I know for sure Im going to install a Trans temp gauge. Thanks so much for your time, Im hopin to learn alot from you guys, and some day pass that along.:)

somekevinguy 02-18-2011 03:46 PM

I was about to get the ultra gauge over the scan gauge because the display seems better and it is way cheaper but as mentioned above the ultra gauge doesn't support any vehicle specific gauges which includes any transmission info for any brand. The Scan Gauge let's you enter your own computer code info so you can be sure you can display anything your vehicle computer can output. If you don't care about more advanced gauges and transmission temps I think I would go with an Ultra Gauge.

Hudsoner 02-18-2011 07:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by somekevinguy (Post 793184)
. If you don't care about more advanced gauges and transmission temps I think I would go with an Ultra Gauge.

Well, I guess it is back to Scan Gauge.

W4MBG 02-18-2011 08:40 PM

SG2 works fine on my RV. dont have any codes right now, but it should read them just fine. so far it has pulled them from my '00 honda, '05 minivan, '01 miata, and a friends late-90's celica.

somekevinguy 02-19-2011 08:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hudsoner (Post 793341)
Well, I guess it is back to Scan Gauge.

My thoughts exactly. Tranmission temp is one of the main reasons I was looking into these things in the first place. I am definitely looking forward to having the fuel information now also. It is too bad. That Ultra Gauge would be so sweet and such a bargain if they would just add the vehicle specific gauges like Scan Gauge. Seem like it would be so easy to do.

somekevinguy 02-19-2011 08:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Richie (Post 762072)
Thanks guys. I have the scan gauge. I wanted something pacificly to read the codes. I'll keep looking. I will be buying a Equus 3100 for my cars and hope it works on the M/H.

The scan gauge reads codes already. I don't understand why you want to go out and spend more money to get an additional box that reads codes. If you just want to read basic engine codes any obd II scanner will work on your V10 just like the scan gauge does.

Richie 02-19-2011 07:50 PM

OBD2 code reader
 
Tried a scan guage but it doesn't read the transmission temperature. Called scan gauge and they gave me a new code to program but I don't know how to program it into the scan gauge. I have read the instruction manual an no mention of reprograming a different code. Any help please!

isa 02-21-2011 09:39 AM

Here are the steps to reprogram a new guage / output:

Displaying Vehicle Specific Gauges
You can add vehicle specific gauges to your ScanGauge.
  • To start, from the HOME screen use MORE>MORE>MORE>XGAUGE
  • Then in the top right, select the number of the XGauge memory you want to use (0 to 24)
  • Next <EDIT this will take you to the TXD screen
  • Using the commands link at the top of this page find your car and enter the values shown in the TXD, RXF, RXD, MTH, and NAME portion of the page
  • When entering values, the buttons on the left are + and - to change characters up and down, on the top right is -> to move to the next space, and OK>
  • The NAME does not have to be the one provided on the spreadsheet, those are only suggestions
  • Lastly press SAVE
Now you can select your new gauge just like any other one. From the home screen, press GAUGE press the button next to the gauge you want to use for the XGauge. Keep pressing as needed until your newly created XGauge name appears.
X-gauge values for Ford PWM transmission fluid temperature (TFT):
TXD C410F1221674
RXF 046205160674
RXD 3010
MTH 000100080000
NAM TFT


X-gauge values for Ford CAN transmission fluid temperature (TFT):
TXD 07E0221674
RXF 046205160674
RXD 3010
MTH 000100080000
NAM TFT



Richie 02-21-2011 11:52 AM

Thanks ISA, thats what I was looking for.

jeepfreak 02-23-2011 03:36 PM

From what I understand if you have the allison 6 speed the scan gauge still cannot read trans temp. But I do believe they are trying hard to rectify that. I'm waiting till they have figured and then will purchase one.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.